Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Recovery utility issues

    This is a discussion on Recovery utility issues within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, I'm trying revert my DG834GT modem back to the default sky firmware (V1.02.28) I have now tried doing it ...

    1. #1
      Hex's Avatar
      Hex
      Hex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HASLINGTON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Recovery utility issues

      Hi,

      I'm trying revert my DG834GT modem back to the default sky firmware (V1.02.28)

      I have now tried doing it on 3 pcs with 6 nics (2 netgears(FA311 and GA302T) and the interface is all messed up or thy don't find the modem in the device list , I have made a post on the netgear site and they have been little to no help at all


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      Assuming you are putting the router into its recovery mode (with the power and the tick lights flashing alternately), you need to find out what type of router your router thinks it is. It might sound a bit odd, but sometimes when you're playing around with flash images, you can get the router into a state where it thinks a completely different type of router, and the Netgear Recovery Utility doesn't show the router in its device list, because it's not the type of router that it's looking for.

      It is possible to find out what the router's getting up to, but it's a bit tricky.

      1. Download and install the latest copy of WinPcap. You can get it from here.

      2. Download WinDump.exe. You can get that from here. Note that that isn't an installer, it's actually the program, so you'll need to make a note of where you save it on your hard disk.

      3. Get the router into its recovery state, by holding in the reset button at the same times as plugging the power connector in.

      4. Get a command window - Start->Run then type cmd

      5. Change directory to the directory to which you downloaded the windump.exe program. and in the command window type this command…
        Code:
        windump -i 2 -w nru.dump
        The windump will sit there quietly examining all the network traffic. Don't close the command window just yet!

      6. Start the Netgear Recovery Utility and work through each of the pages until you get to the point where it's looked for a router, but has failed to find one. Once it's got there, quit the program.

      7. Go back to the command window, and press Ctrl-C. This should stop the windump program.

      8. Type the following command in the command window…
        Code:
        windump -r nru.dump ether proto 0x8888 | more
        You should see something like this:
        Code:
        01:56:44.818106 00:19:db:c0:ff:ee (oui Unknown) > Broadcast, ethertype Unknown (0x8888), length 64:
                0x0000:  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ................
                0x0010:  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ................
                0x0020:  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ................
                0x0030:  0000                                     ..
        01:56:44.818207 00:18:de:ad:be:ef (oui Unknown) > 00:19:db:c0:ff:ee (oui Unknown), ethertype Unknown (0x8888), length 80:
                0x0000:  0000 0000 0000 0000 3800 0000 0000 4447  ........8.....DG
                0x0010:  3833 3447 542d 3153 4b55 4b53 0000 0000  834GT-1SKUKS....
                0x0020:  0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000  ................
                0x0030:  4100 3732 0000 0000 0000 0000 121c 0000  A.72............
                0x0040:  0000                                     ..
        I've changed the MAC addresses for security reasons. If you look at the packet information, you can see that the router with the MAC address 00:18:de:ad:be:ef has sent a reply saying that it's a DG834GT-1SKUKS router, so the Netgear Recovery Utility will have no problem putting a DG834GT image onto the router.
      I know this is a pretty advanced thing to do, but this is why I keep reminding people that playing around with your router's firmware is not an activity to be undertaken lightly. You need to know all this kind of stuff - things like getting and analysing Ethernet traffic.
      Last edited by James67; 04-04-08 at 07:31 PM.

    4. #3
      Hex's Avatar
      Hex
      Hex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HASLINGTON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      Thats odd, I was running WinDump and by magic the recovery utility picked up the modem and I was able to flash it back.


      That all said and done, now I get


      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:01:30 - Initialize LCP.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:01:30 - LCP is allowed to come up.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:02:30 - Initialize LCP.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:02:30 - LCP is allowed to come up.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:03:20 - Initialize LCP.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:03:20 - LCP is allowed to come up.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:03:21 - CHAP authentication success
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:03:28 - LCP down.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:03:29 - Initialize LCP.
      Sat, 2000-01-01 00:03:29 - LCP is allowed to come up.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      Hmmm, curious. The WinPcap library puts the network interface into its "promiscuous" mode - maybe that's all it took to get the Netgear Recovery Utility working.

      If you're getting an authentication error, you need to reset the router to factory defaults. This will reinitialise the ADSL user name and password to the correct values.

    6. #5
      Hex's Avatar
      Hex
      Hex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HASLINGTON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      All working now, many thanks James

    7. #6
      PJ02's Avatar
      PJ02 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      Thank you James,

      Dug out the old brick i had replaced ages ago, used the packet capture method to find out it thought it was a DG834PNB

      Downloaded the PN firmware and used the Recovery Utility which could now see the device in the device list. Changed the name of the latest GT firmware to that of the PN and uploaded. I now have a spare working sky DG834GT v1 with the latest Netgear firmware on.

      Much appreciated.

      Andy

    8. #7
      ardsar's Avatar
      ardsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crownhill Plymouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      Quote Originally Posted by PJ02 View Post
      Thank you James,

      Dug out the old brick i had replaced ages ago, used the packet capture method to find out it thought it was a DG834PNB

      Downloaded the PN firmware and used the Recovery Utility which could now see the device in the device list. Changed the name of the latest GT firmware to that of the PN and uploaded. I now have a spare working sky DG834GT v1 with the latest Netgear firmware on.

      Much appreciated.

      Andy
      Hi, I have this exact same problem. Can you please advise how you solved this. I cant find the recovery utility for the PN, only the GT

      THanks

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Recovery utility issues

      There is no Recovery Utility for the PN, only for the DG834 in general. The PN firmware is only used to fool the router, as the Utility for some reason sees the GT as a PN.

      Why do you want to do this?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION