Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

    This is a discussion on Sky V1 blue screen vista! help within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Maybe we should open a DG834 recovery clinic! Had similar trouble recently fixing one of these for a friend. I ...

    1. #11
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Maybe we should open a DG834 recovery clinic!

      Had similar trouble recently fixing one of these for a friend. I downloaded all the Netgear DG834 firmware files as well as the DGTEAM files and tried them 1 by 1. Out of the blue when trying this file -

      the router was detected and using the firmware file switch trick flashed the Sky firmware and successfully recovered the router.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...








    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jam900blue's Avatar
      jam900blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      WOW that is great ! ive got it to see the router!! with that firmware.

      Although i just want to make clear what i should do next so i dont mess it up again:

      So ive got to the bit with the device listed,

      Then what do i do?? What firmware should i use?

      Thanks so much for your help!

      James

    4. #13
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      ok start from scratch but rename that file to something simple like 'firmware'. Also have a copy of the Sky firmware to hand also named 'firmware'.

      Run the recovery app again and when the router is detected overwrite it with the Sky firmware by dragging it into the recovery folder overwriting the previous one. Once copied resume the flash process.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







    5. #14
      jam900blue's Avatar
      jam900blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Thank you have now succesfully flashed the router and it is working fine! Thanks for everyones help!

    6. #15
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Nice one.

      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







    7. #16
      jennifer's Avatar
      jennifer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LocksH
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Foxsat HDR
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      181
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Recovered my Netgear to original Sky Firmware by renaming the .img file to "firmware" as suggested.

      I have not used the netgear at all other than flashing to netgear's firmware in order to get the Username/Password, but have now connected it for the update.

      JH

    8. #17
      astra's Avatar
      astra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYELL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      200
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Thanks Simon it works, having tried all sort to flash back to sky’s firmware your little trick works a treat.

      I did have the two constant flashing lights having tried to flash using a vista pc and getting the dreaded Blue screen of death. Won’t be using vista again to flash the router.

      One point to note was the change of password it defaulted back to netgears which was “password” instead of “sky” all the other sky defaults was ok



      should make a sticky for this thread....

    9. #18
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Did you perform a reset after flashing? Doing a reset will actvate Skys defaults usually.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







    10. #19
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      Hi, I'm also trying to rectify a borked router that will not be recognised by the recovery utility.

      Although the above link will not allow me to download the file as I'm nota member of box.net?
      Can anyone put it on rapidshare or somethin?

      Cheers

    11. #20
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky V1 blue screen vista! help

      You don't need to be a member just click on the link which takes you to a box.net page displaying 3 links. Click on the 1st link as its in zip format and it will prompt you to start the download.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION