Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

    This is a discussion on I can't flash my SKY DG834GT within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I am having trouble flashing my Sky DG834GT router with the DG834GT Recovery Utility. I have copied the firmware to ...

    1. #1
      thecf's Avatar
      thecf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      I am having trouble flashing my Sky DG834GT router with the DG834GT Recovery Utility. I have copied the firmware to the directory where the utility is but it's not finding the firmware by the looks of it???

      See the screenshots... Does anybody know what the problem is???

      Cheers
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails I can't flash my SKY DG834GT-1.jpg   I can't flash my SKY DG834GT-2.jpg   I can't flash my SKY DG834GT-3.jpg  
      Last edited by thecf; 27-10-07 at 03:14 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      Sorry cannot help you with the flashing (i have not done it my self)
      if you explain why you need to flash it, there may be other things you can do ?

    4. #3
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      Quote Originally Posted by thecf View Post
      I am having trouble flashing my Sky DG834GT router with the DG834GT Recovery Utility. I have copied the firmware to the directory where the utility is but it's not finding the firmware by the looks of it???

      See the screenshots... Does anybody know what the problem is???

      Cheers
      The problem seems to be that some network cards don't like the flash utility. A number of other people have posted the same problem.

      The only solution is to try another network card or computer.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    5. #4
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      Quote Originally Posted by the_sky_goat View Post
      The problem seems to be that some network cards don't like the flash utility. A number of other people have posted the same problem.

      The only solution is to try another network card or computer.
      You could try updating the windows driver for your network card. It may not solve anything but you have nothing to lose by trying it. There should be an "Update Driver" button in the Device Manager when you select your network adaptor.

    6. #5
      luke-shep's Avatar
      luke-shep is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      I am also haviong trouble flashing my sky router. I have tried the flashing process on three computers, all different ethernet cards, and i get the same problem each time, the Netgear update wizard just freezes! Any help is very much appreciated.

    7. #6
      bramshott's Avatar
      bramshott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      From experience I have found that this problem seems to occur if you are using a card with an Intel chipset.
      Tried with other chipsets and the flash works fine.

    8. #7
      luke-shep's Avatar
      luke-shep is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      I have recently tried the flashing process on a new pc which has an amd RS690G chipset and a realtek gigabit lan card and it still freezes! Any suggestions as to why?

    9. #8
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      No-one has really worked out the why the Netgear Recovery Utility works for some people and not others. In direct contrast to bramshott's comment above, my PC with Intel Ethernet works flawlessly, so that kicks that theory into touch. It's a mystery basically.

    10. #9
      awkward's Avatar
      awkward is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      I have the same problem and also the light flashing sequence stays flashing no matter what!!

      Confused!!

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I can't flash my SKY DG834GT

      so dont do it?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION