Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Upgraded to max now Download slower

    This is a discussion on Upgraded to max now Download slower within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi Up until 2 weeks ago I was on sky connect 8MB and had no problems. recently Sky automatically upgraded ...

    1. #1
      carlos01's Avatar
      carlos01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: midsomer norton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgraded to max now Download slower

      Hi
      Up until 2 weeks ago I was on sky connect 8MB and had no problems. recently Sky automatically upgraded me toi their LLU lines mid package and my connection seemed exactly the same.

      I then upgraded to sky max. To my supprise the data in my router remained at 8096 although the upload figure did increase. Also using speedtest.net it showed that my download was 5800 and up 740. I phoned sky asking why my download was no better. After a few call Tier 3 looked at my connection and decided to cap it at 7000 saying that i had a lot of errors on the line and i was 4km away from exchange. However I have never had a line drop out.

      After much discussion I got them to put the cap at 10meg which now gives me 7168/768 using speedtest. I now need to wait and see if the errors (be them invisible to me and my usage) become a problem.

      Connection info -
      my connection is GDMT
      The property previous owners had 2 seperate lines into the property (two numbers). However when I moved in they were connected together by BT outside.

      My questions
      (1) Is 4km too far
      (2) If i get no drop outs and usage seems fine am i wise to leave the cap at 10M rather than the 7M they advise (with less errors)
      (3) To try and improve the connection by reducing the errors should i connect into the master BT socket. At the moment I think I am conncted into a socket which is connected to the master outside (seee above)

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      Can you post your detailed stats?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...ter-stats.html
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      carlos01's Avatar
      carlos01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: midsomer norton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      Ok here is my details using mognuts
      Speedtest.net gives 6088 down/652 up and 60 ping
      Talking to BT i think i am connected into what was a master socket but now a socket which is externally Ted into the downstairs master..

      I will try connecting it directly into the downstairs master test socket tomorrow. Thanks Carlo

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9056 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.5 12.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 9632 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 9056 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 284(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 284 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0421 8.6153
      L: 2280 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 17348 17346
      SFErr: 30 0
      RS: 2359456 147441
      RSCorr: 14912 0
      RSUnCorr: 90 0

      HEC: 21 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 6303632 0
      Data Cells: 367756 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 29 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 28 0
      Total time = 5 min 35 sec
      SF = 17348
      CRC = 30
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 29
      Latest 1 day time = 5 min 35 sec
      SF = 17348
      CRC = 30
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 29
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 35 sec
      SF = 17348
      CRC = 30
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 29
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      well, ur not on ADSL2+ - someone has upped the line speed but not the mode - if anything it will appear slower!!

      u need to get back to tier 3 and get the mode changed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      carlos01's Avatar
      carlos01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: midsomer norton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      Yes Tier 3 told me that in their opinion I needed capping at 7meg down as i had errors on my system. As ive never had any drop outs I asked them to cap it at 10meg.. They told me only the best lines (closest to exchange and low errors) go to ADSL2. They tell me as my line is 4KM away hence they recommend the GDMT

      I aint no expert at this just really repeating things.. However from what ive read in here my line atten of 39db isnt bad.. is it ?

      Ultimatly T3 told me to they would do what ever i want.
      Should I be requesting a higher cap or ADSL2 ?

      In the mean time I am going to reproduce a set of results with my router plugged into the master test socket as they say there a lot of errors at my end... My interpretation of my results show the errors to be resonable ?

      Thanks for the replies so far

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      anything over 8MB HAS to go on ADSL2+, Sky aren't mant to use gdmt over 8MB so the agent who did it is wrong....

      i personally think you'd be better off on gdmt/8MB but thats my opinion
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      carlos01's Avatar
      carlos01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: midsomer norton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      Since the above - now about 4 days the connection appears fine in so much that it doesnt drop out and all the online games play fine (3 pcs connected to it usually all gaming).

      The 10Meg limit was set at my request rightly or wrongly.
      Ive tried interpretating my results and from what ive read they aint bad.. but not good enough for ADSL2. Can someone confirm this.

      I am going to plug it into the test socket over the weekend and see what the results are like as at the moment I believe I am connected into an extension socket which is T'ed outside into the main line (was formally a 2nd line)

      Ta

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      its not a case of your request being wrong, the tier 3 agent should've put u on ADSL2+ if they were gonna go over 8MB.....they've gone against Sky policy and are at risk of having your service suspended for being on the wrong profile (although it'll just get changed eventually so won't actually happen) and has risked their job doing it.....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      carlos01's Avatar
      carlos01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: midsomer norton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      er.. yes.. but what about me questions ?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded to max now Download slower

      4KM is too far to benefit being on ADSL2+ so really you should be on gdmt/8MB......and Sky will change you to this if connection is found anyway, whether you ask for the change or not

      if anything you might see connection be more stable

      as for being off a socket from a junction box outside i can't comment. If it works now it should be fine, just bare in mind that if things start to go wrong x months down the line this might be the cause
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION