Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

    This is a discussion on Sky Router and Netgear Access Point within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, My Sky router works great on the wired LAN but when I try to wirelessly use our laptop it ...

    1. #1
      macplace's Avatar
      macplace is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESFAL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      Hi,

      My Sky router works great on the wired LAN but when I try to wirelessly use our laptop it shows from low to strong signal strength but will not always connect to the internet.
      When I do get the laptop connected it is not very reliable as the connection drops out regularly. The wired side of the LAN does not drop out.

      I thought of turning off the wireless part of the router and then connect in a wireless access point so my question is; Will this access point make a big difference to my wireless connection reliability?

      Thank you for any advice,
      Robert
      Last edited by macplace; 09-08-07 at 06:08 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      allen's Avatar
      allen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Midlands
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      Quote Originally Posted by macplace View Post
      Hi,

      I thought of turning off the wireless part of the router and then connect in a wireless access point so my question is; Will this access point make a big difference to my wireless connection reliability?

      Robert
      I'm not sure I understand your query. It reads as though you have access to some other source of wireless other than your Sky/Netgear router which seems unlikely for free (unless you have careless/generours neighbours). If you do have an alternative then the reliability will surely depend on the quality of the that source.

      If your query is really about poor wireless connections with Sky/Netgear then there are loads of posts on this here plus details of a number of strategies which people have adopted. Won't take much searching to find these.

    4. #3
      macplace's Avatar
      macplace is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESFAL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      Sorry if I did not explain my thoughts clearly.
      I would have a wired connection from the back of the router to a wireless access point and the access point would give me the wireless access to the internet. The wireless part of the router would be disabled
      Cheers

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      I don't think anyone can really answer your question. It's more a case of try it and see.

      Personally, if the access point is located in a similar place to the router, then I can't see it making that much difference, unless the AP is a very high quality one compared to the netgear.

    6. #5
      macplace's Avatar
      macplace is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESFAL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      Hi,

      Installed the access point downstairs and just switched off the wireless part of the router. The signal strength now ranges from very good to excellent with no dropouts (so far).

      Robert

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      what AP id you get? (just curious)

    8. #7
      tandt's Avatar
      tandt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router and Netgear Access Point

      Hi Folks,

      I need some help on the following.

      Was previously for nearly 2 years, with another ISP (PlusNet); using Router Netgear 814; connected by hardwire (Ethernet), to “four” Pc; ALL working fine. Joined Sky Broadband recently; had line activated last Sat.; installed the Sky Broadband CD and that PC has web connection. But other “three” DO NOT; even after using Sky CD on each PC

      Checked and swooped around the Router Ports and also the cables but other PCs just complain, when Sky’s “IE” is launched displaying “this page can not be displayed”.
      Hence, one PC works fine and is live with Internet but not the other three.

      I do not think there are any hardware problems. But strongly feel that the Internet Connection needs new configuration on each PC, but Sky Broadband Tech. Team has not been of much help. I being not that PC literate am wandering if any of you can help and advise to get the other “three” PCs to connect to the net.

      Keep up the good work and the site is fabulous.

      Thanks & Regards,
      tandt

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION