Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Help with flashing please!

    This is a discussion on Help with flashing please! within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi everyone, I'm having some difficulties in trying to flash my router. I'm following the link below http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-r...-password.html which is ...

    1. #1
      belalmiah's Avatar
      belalmiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wanstead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: X3 Sky+HD Box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help with flashing please!

      Hi everyone,

      I'm having some difficulties in trying to flash my router.

      I'm following the link below

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-r...-password.html

      which is listed on this site.

      I'm currently stuck at stage 6 where you have to select the correct network adapter from the list given and click on next.

      When I select my network and click next, I get this message come up
      'No bin or img file found'

      Can anyone advise me further on this please.
      Your help is very much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      or just don't do it as you're breaking T&C's and we'll refuse tech support should it go boobs up...just so u know!!
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 11-07-07 at 08:10 PM.

    4. #3
      belalmiah's Avatar
      belalmiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wanstead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: X3 Sky+HD Box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      I'm aware I'll be breaking the T&C's.

      Just thought I'll give it a go and see if it improves my error level's etc as someone else on the forum mentioned that their netgear firmware is much more reliable than the sky firmware. Link below.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...html#post83625.

      As I have 2 routers here, thought I'll give it a go.

      Thanks
      Last edited by belalmiah; 13-07-07 at 04:48 PM.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      thats fair enuff, so long as you know!! and ys, in some cases the 'proper' firmware can help. my personal view is to buy a more expensive router as it also seems to help with error correction...

    6. #5
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      Quote Originally Posted by belalmiah View Post
      ...someone else on the forum mentioned that their netgear firmware is much more reliable than the sky firmware.
      Experiment for educational purposes, of course, but don't believe everything you read. (Too many people assume that their own personal experience has the same scientific rigour as a publication in Nature Magazine!)

      Re you problem, the img file must be in the same directory as the upgrade wizard.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    7. #6
      belalmiah's Avatar
      belalmiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wanstead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: X3 Sky+HD Box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      Thanks for the advice mossywell.

      I will give it a go and see what happens.

      Trust me its like you said 'Experiment for educational purposes'

    8. #7
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      i tried this and thanks to the power company cutting it off mid way through i now have a knackered fireware less router that windows can't even detect

      it's broken yet it would probably still work better than when it had sky on it

    9. #8
      acoolwelshbloke's Avatar
      acoolwelshbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea Main
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Swansea, UK.
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      You should still be able to re-flash it!

      Same thing happened to me, flashed my router and wife put kettle on and the trip switch sprung into life!

      There is a utility on the netgear site that allows you to install should you run in to problems or the flashing process fails!

      My router works great since I put the generic firmware on to the device, once sky release an update I will be happy to flash back. Until then I will continue to use the generic version!

    10. #9
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      Quote Originally Posted by acoolwelshbloke View Post
      once sky release an update I will be happy to flash back. Until then I will continue to use the generic version!
      .. except that with the generic firmware on it (which is no more stable than the Sky one), it will never update anyway unless you do it manually.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    11. #10
      acoolwelshbloke's Avatar
      acoolwelshbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea Main
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Swansea, UK.
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with flashing please!

      Quote Originally Posted by mossywell View Post
      .. except that with the generic firmware on it (which is no more stable than the Sky one), it will never update anyway unless you do it manually.
      You do realise there was a new firmware version released for this router yesterday do you???

      So that has to be better than sky's?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION