Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Using a Billion 7402VGP

    This is a discussion on Using a Billion 7402VGP within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, I've just joined Sky and having problems with the bundled Netgear router and would like to use my Billion ...

    1. #1
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using a Billion 7402VGP

      Hi,
      I've just joined Sky and having problems with the bundled Netgear router and would like to use my Billion (BiPac) 7402VGP. I've got my username (MAC address) and password from the Netgear but this doesn't seem to authenticate when using the other modem.

      The BiPac has the latest international firmware installed and is able to be configured with many advance options. Although the modem syncs successfully it seems to simply stall when 'connecting'.

      Does anyone know what authentication protocols and other options I should configure for ADSL2+ through Sky.

      Thanks, B2O.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...tions-faq.html

      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

      If you are still getting problems then you may have typed the u/p incorrectly. Use cut and paste.

    4. #3
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      ah, that's what I was looking for! Thanks, B2O

    5. #4
      bedrock's Avatar
      bedrock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDTTCHF
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Fareham
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      I'm using a 7402VGP with firmware 5.52f and have no problems at all, it works great with Sky BB

    6. #5
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      Quote Originally Posted by bedrock View Post
      I'm using a 7402VGP with firmware 5.52f and have no problems at all, it works great with Sky BB
      I had the modem working fine for a week but last night the modem just won't authenticate. I double checked the settings in case they were lost during a reboot but all were correct. Needless to say, as soon as I plugged in the Sky branded modem, everything came back to life.

      You wouldn't happen to know how to get these things into a debug mode for better logging would you?

    7. #6
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      Quote Originally Posted by bedrock View Post
      I'm using a 7402VGP with firmware 5.52f and have no problems at all, it works great with Sky BB
      On a side, where are you sourcing your firmware updates? Browsing the local UK billion site points you to a rather old 7.07 version. I've updated mine from the Australian site to, like you, 5.52f.

    8. #7
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      Quote Originally Posted by bedrock View Post
      I'm using a 7402VGP with firmware 5.52f and have no problems at all, it works great with Sky BB
      I'm running the same firmware version and still have some problems. I'm hoping someone out there might be able to shed some light on the issue.

      I was using my billion, with the latest Australian firmware without issue for quite sometime then one night the modem just would not sync. I double checked the configuration and found nothing out of the ordinary. I plugged in the sky branded modem and it immediatly connected.

      It's been sometime since I had the time to check the billion, but I plugged it back in yesterday and the device synced, authenicated and was being used with increased speed than the Sky branded modem. Needless to say, this setup was short lived as just tonight, after approximatly 36 hours of continuous use, the device lost it's sync and failed to fix itself. I bounced the device, but still no luck yet the sky branded device works straight out of the box.

      I know there is nothing wrong with the billion device as it works for extented periods back in Australia, just no luck here.

      Advice?

    9. #8
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      Quote Originally Posted by B2O View Post
      Advice?
      Anyone out there able to provide complete documentation on the settings required for non-supported routers? This would include VPI/CPI information and other associated adsl information.

      Thanks.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      or just use the Sky one as you have no issues with it connecting...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      B2O's Avatar
      B2O
      B2O is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kentish Town
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a Billion 7402VGP

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      or just use the Sky one as you have no issues with it connecting...
      It doesn't do VoIP like the billion . . .

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION