Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Replace wireless with powerline?

    This is a discussion on Replace wireless with powerline? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi - I'm a mac user and fairly lucky with my Sky setup to my laptop. But I have an ...

    1. #1
      fredwestie's Avatar
      fredwestie is offline DLM Admin
      Exchange: Shepherds Bush
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replace wireless with powerline?

      Hi - I'm a mac user and fairly lucky with my Sky setup to my laptop. But I have an iMac upstairs that is just out of decent wireless range. Can I buy a netgear (or similar) powerline adapter to plug in near my router and another to plug in near the iMac? Would this give me a stronger signal (the wireless keeps dropping out and I want to stream video from the iMac to the TV)? TIA.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      allen's Avatar
      allen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Midlands
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      Quote Originally Posted by fredwestie View Post
      Hi - I'm a mac user and fairly lucky with my Sky setup to my laptop. But I have an iMac upstairs that is just out of decent wireless range. Can I buy a netgear (or similar) powerline adapter to plug in near my router and another to plug in near the iMac? Would this give me a stronger signal (the wireless keeps dropping out and I want to stream video from the iMac to the TV)? TIA.

      I use a Devolo "ethernet over mains" system which is great. Worked "out of the box" as they say. One adapter connects router to mains socket. Another mains connector links socket to remote PC. Not cheap but fast, reliable and highly recommended.

    4. #3
      fredwestie's Avatar
      fredwestie is offline DLM Admin
      Exchange: Shepherds Bush
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      Thanks. Just need to know if they are mac friendly. Bueller? anyone?

    5. #4
      Logrus's Avatar
      Logrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      HI, i have the netgear Xe103 and a Netgear Xe104.

      There is no reason they will not work on a Mac, ethernet is ethernet, the standard has been set for a long time on that. In this case the device itself is irrelevant, it sends and receives standard ethernet. Just remember that you need at least two of them for it to work.

    6. #5
      fredwestie's Avatar
      fredwestie is offline DLM Admin
      Exchange: Shepherds Bush
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UPDATE: Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      Great News! The Devolo AV 200 kit (2 plugs with ethernet) from PC World (130 quid) works a treat and I'm sitting here streaming 1080 trailers from the Apple quicktime site, saved onto my iMac down through my entire house to the Xbox and Bravia TV. All really simple and very very fast robust connection. No set up necessary (other than plugging in). Not a stutter or judder or out of sync in over two hours of streaming all sorts of content in all formats and sizes using Connect 360. Thanks for all your help. All I need now is a 360 that is much quieter...

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      All I need now is a 360 that is much quieter...
      lol and a HD box
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      fredwestie's Avatar
      fredwestie is offline DLM Admin
      Exchange: Shepherds Bush
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      I use the xbox to drown out the noise of the HD one...

    9. #8
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replace wireless with powerline?

      Quote Originally Posted by fredwestie View Post
      Hi - I'm a mac user and fairly lucky with my Sky setup to my laptop. But I have an iMac upstairs that is just out of decent wireless range. Can I buy a netgear (or similar) powerline adapter to plug in near my router and another to plug in near the iMac? Would this give me a stronger signal (the wireless keeps dropping out and I want to stream video from the iMac to the TV)? TIA.
      yes 99 for a pair at pc world they do upto 320mbps so are ideal for HD TV the box says

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION