Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    Is hacking router worth it?!?

    This is a discussion on Is hacking router worth it?!? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; The flat was made in 2000. There are 4 flats to each building.. so 2 on ground floor, 2 on ...

    1. #21
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      The flat was made in 2000. There are 4 flats to each building.. so 2 on ground floor, 2 on first floor. Im on ground floor. The wires going from the 2 boxes go into a wall... there are no other wires hanging around the flat or attached to any walls.

      The box outside is locked with one of those triangular things where you need a special key to open it? I dont know if this is common practice in flats or with BT? I dont even know whats behind it! I could ask neighbours or the landlord I suppose!

      Is CRC errors more commonly a line fault or internal wiring issues? Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Dunno what's more common re. errors - Saturday or mossywell are the gurus here

      Have a read of the links in this earlier post though:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...html#post81104


      And at least remove the ring wire.



      Triangular key... maybe a meter box for the gas or electricity? I think you can buy those keys.

      Common practice for flats... sounds odd to me to not have a master in a relatively new flat.

      My building is around 5 years old, & my apartment has a normal BT NTE5 master socket.

    4. #23
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Well theres a box with the same key outside the house on the wall which the landlord said was for gas and elec meters but he didnt mention the one inside the building outside my front door... but if its not in there there's literraly no other sockets or wires internally :s

      I dont want to remove the wire just yet until I get more advice regarding the master socket as i'm not too confident with fiddly things and would rahter KNOW thats the problem I know my noise is actually perfectly normal on the line and its just the CRC errors that are the problem?>

      Thanks

    5. #24
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Ok this one is the master, those battery looking objects mean its the master, the other socket hasn't got them.

      Disconnect the orange and white wire in all sockets, it is a ring wire which is not required for modern phones, but can cause noise on broadband, it was the source of my problems.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is hacking router worth it?!?-other.jpg  

    6. #25
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      That caused the CRC errors? Ok will do that tonight thanks

    7. #26
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Quote Originally Posted by joshuasugarman View Post
      That caused the CRC errors? Ok will do that tonight thanks
      It certainly did, but dosen't cure it for everyone. So good luck.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION