Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Is hacking router worth it?!?

    This is a discussion on Is hacking router worth it?!? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; hmm thats strange.. according to that i'm 4km approx away from my exchange due to my attenuation.. but i'm actually ...

    1. #11
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      hmm thats strange.. according to that i'm 4km approx away from my exchange due to my attenuation.. but i'm actually 2.5km away and should be able to receive up to 14mb according to that :S:S:S any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Yeah read the advice already given, you have line errors try the test socket.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      according to that i'm 4km approx away from my exchange due to my attenuation.. but i'm actually 2.5km
      If your distance from the exchange is 2.5K straight line, your actual line length is likely to be between 4 and 5K.

    5. #14
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      The problem is there are only 2 very small socet box things that i've found (new flat)... they both stick out and are very small. One has the BT logo on but its in a different room so I can't plug the router into the test socket.....

      Could CRC errors reducde a connection that much?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Could CRC errors reducde a connection that much
      Yes they could and if they are being caused by your internal wiring, you can improve it. Koala5 is one who has personal experience of what improvements are possible.

    7. #16
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Well I'll reset the router on saturday and try doing some more tests to see if the CRC thing is a one off.

      If i get them again, I'll just have to go get a 20m ethernet cable to use for my router to the socket in the other room.

      Just so I can be prepared, if it works fine in the test socket what can I do, and if it doesnt work fine what can I do? Thanks

    8. #17
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Quote Originally Posted by joshuasugarman View Post
      The problem is there are only 2 very small socet box things that i've found (new flat)... they both stick out and are very small. One has the BT logo on but its in a different room so I can't plug the router into the test socket.....

      Could CRC errors reducde a connection that much?
      Yep they can! this was causing my connection to slow to the point where it would take up to a minute to load the BBC front page, or it would time out saying page not found. Downloading any files was a waste of time, would download at 20 or 39kb's then hang. Rebooting the router would cure the problem for 30 minutes to an hour, then it would slow again and I'd be back to square one, All down to CRC errors and telephone wiring.

    9. #18
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      updated:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3456 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.9 13.0
      Attn(dB): 56.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.3 9.9
      Max(Kbps): 3776 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 3456 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 109(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 109 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1454 8.6153
      L: 880 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 33802549 33802547
      SFErr: 29872 238
      RS: 1149286698 287321649
      RSCorr: 238349169 6136
      RSUnCorr: 558923 0

      HEC: 22011 188
      OCD: 945 4
      LCD: 12 2
      Total Cells: 387777850 0
      Data Cells: 69796510 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8833 0
      SES: 5819 0
      UAS: 44 0
      Total time = 1 days 15 hours 39 min 54 sec
      SF = 33806722
      CRC = 30060
      LOS = 14188
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8833
      Latest 1 day time = 15 hours 39 min 54 sec
      SF = 3317268
      CRC = 315
      LOS = 370
      LOF = 0
      ES = 293
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 54 sec
      SF = 34993
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 17
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082145
      CRC = 2466
      LOS = 1045
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1347
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 17
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6








      Well still definitely looks like CRC errors is the problem.

      As I said I'm struggling finding the main box as the only box with a bt logo on (out of 2 in the house) still is a small little box which is attached to a wire not the wall. The wire however goes into holes into the wall which at the other end is simply another extension box (i assume) which is also small. :/

    10. #19
      joshuasugarman's Avatar
      joshuasugarman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Ok guys.. tried having a look today. First of all I'm in a rented accomodation (which I'll soon be buying) and I've only been here a few weeks. There's a locked box integrated into the wall outside my door (its a flat). I cant get in there so I dont know if tehres a master socket in there!

      However, in the house there is NO socket with a special line socket inside. There are only 2 sockets inside the house and pictures are below. One is a BT socket (with 2 pictures) and one with the T logo on (1 piccy):

      http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y28...sKiller/bt.jpg
      http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y28...r/btsocket.jpg
      http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y28...ller/other.jpg

      If you can advise it'd be MUCH appreciated!

    11. #20
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Is hacking router worth it?!?

      Must be a master somewhere

      How old is the flat?


      One thing you can do, is to remove the ring wire - this is the orange wire with white bands, connected to IDC terminal 3 on the back of the socket. It's not necessary (unless you have a very old phone, or do not have ADSL so do not have a microfilter), & can introduce a lot of noise. Just pull it out of the terminal & stick some insulating tape over the end.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION