Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

    This is a discussion on changed router firmware before sky bb activated... within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; hi all! i am on holiday for the long weekend as i am writing. i have a problem, just before ...

    1. #1
      temur's Avatar
      temur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      hi all!
      i am on holiday for the long weekend as i am writing.
      i have a problem, just before my sky bb [max package] was activated, i actually changed the router firmware to the netgear firmware.... but, i did get the sky password etc. from the router using the ping thing, but i forgot to save it...



      so, i was reading on someones topic about resetting the firware, via. the sky bb cd, in one of the folders.
      do you think that will work?

      anyone know if it will work?
      cheers, and btw, i was with bt before and i had about 2 meg down, and it was adsl, moved to sky adsl2+ and was near 4 meg! woah!

      thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      I think you're right -- the firmware from the CD should restore the router to the state it was delivered in. I think you have to carefully reset the router after doing that using the pinhole button for 30 secs. If in doubt have a look at the full manual for the DG834GT on the Netgear site.

    4. #3
      temur's Avatar
      temur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      ok, cheers. when i get back i'll probably do the install then reset the router.

      anyone else got any info about this?

      cheers for the reply.

    5. #4
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      Flashing with the normal Netgear firmware actually reveals the Sky ADSL username & password to you anyway, in the router's admin interface. So unless you've removed or changed them, they should be there still anyway.

    6. #5
      temur's Avatar
      temur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      well, when i changed it to the netgear firmware it had i think ''test'' or ''admin'' as the default username.
      no password i think.

    7. #6
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      The standard Sky router login is User name admin Password is sky.

      This should not to be confused with the embedded username and password.

      All these passwords are confusing aren't they? And in many instances, pointless in a domestic setting.

    8. #7
      temur's Avatar
      temur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      yup lol..

      rang up sky and asked for my broadband username and password, kept giving me the router password...
      after 20 minutes later i put the phone down lol.

    9. #8
      temur's Avatar
      temur is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01932
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      omg...

      i go to the sky user utilities in the sky broadband cd...
      extract all the files to my desktop, they're not read only files so it's fine.
      run the upgrade, chose my ethernet controller, and it's not listed [the router[ on any of them!!!!!
      reset the router, all of that, don't work!

      anyone know why?
      cheers

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      lesson to be learnt here....don't flash your router!! also, bb tech support won't give you your username/password cause we don't know them!!!

      IF you're that bothered about the router (which, to be fair, is crap) I'd buy another one and extract the login details from the old one - in your current situation we won't supply another one or offer you tech support as you're in breach of t&c

    11. #10
      duff_beer's Avatar
      duff_beer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      I lost my password and login so i reverted to the sky firmware from the cd and it put em back and then i extracted them and saved them and then updated the router again to normal netgear firmware,

      just do what i did and you will be fine

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION