Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

    This is a discussion on changed router firmware before sky bb activated... within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy your current situation we won't supply another one or offer you tech support as you're in ...

    1. #11
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      your current situation we won't supply another one or offer you tech support as you're in breach of t&c
      Bit of a grey area there to be honest, The T&C's state you MUST use the supplied sky branded router (Netgear DG834GT) but does it say you must use its original firmware and not "upgrade" it?
      personally I cant remember exactly..
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      Quote Originally Posted by TRIaXOR™ View Post
      I cant remember exactly..
      I can.

      It says that the Sky router must be used and also that the user must allow Sky to update the firmware. As the update is done by a process that is specific to the SKy firmware, they would probably argue (and I'm not say that I agree with this argument) that by using a different firmware, you have effectively prevented the firmware update.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    4. #13
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      a remote upgrade? thats pretty dangerous, get a power failure while its upgrading and the router's bricked, In top of that, remote management would effectivly be on, security wise thats also pretty dangerous
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    5. #14
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      Quote Originally Posted by TRIaXOR™ View Post
      a remote upgrade? thats pretty dangerous
      Emergency firmware recovery (and indeed BIOS) has moved on since the "dangerous" days that you refer to. It's quite safe now.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    6. #15
      Jeffers's Avatar
      Jeffers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penrith/LCPEN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Cumbria
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      Maybe a bit late not sure, but if you download the firmware recovery utility off the netgear site and use that to restore the sky firmware you should be ok.

      I had a problem with my router after a power cut (not sure what it did but the router didn't like it anyway) and the netgear utility picked it up whereas the one sky supplied didn't.

      Jeffers

    7. #16
      tri-ess's Avatar
      tri-ess is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: changed router firmware before sky bb activated...

      If my modem/router is typical, the username is the LAN MAC address (without colons) followed by "@skydsl".

      Incidentally, Section 3 of the contract states
      "(c) Your Broadband Box (except the software in it) will become your property on installation if you choose Home Installation, or on delivery if you choose Self Install. The software in your Broadband Box is owned by or licensed to Sky or another member of the British Sky Broadcasting group. You must allow this software to be updated. Updates will happen automatically at no extra charge.
      (d) Sky Broadband must only be accessed via your Broadband Box. Your Broadband Box is not supplied as being capable of being used to access any other Internet service."

      As this reads, you are required to use the Netgear modem/router (but my test indicate it is similar in performance to a Zyxel).
      Sky only require that you allow the firmware to be updated, not that you must allow the updated firmware to be installed. Whether or not you allow Sky to install updated firmware is not a condition.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION