Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Phone cutting out Broadband

    This is a discussion on Phone cutting out Broadband within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Heya all, first post here. Got my sky max package installed an running on Sunday, then yesterday it kept cutting ...

    1. #1
      spacehappy's Avatar
      spacehappy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Cardiff/ Wales
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Phone cutting out Broadband

      Heya all, first post here.

      Got my sky max package installed an running on Sunday, then yesterday it kept cutting out every time the phone rang. Anyone got any solutions to this?, i tried searching the forum but can't see a post on this one.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      amitkumar's Avatar
      amitkumar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone cutting out Broadband

      Have you got ADSL filters on all those phone sockets in use?
      I have a similar problem; didnt have an issue with my previous ISP and router, but since i have changed to Sky the phone keeps on cutting out!

    4. #3
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Phone cutting out Broadband

      Filters would be my guess too, failing that you could investigate wire number 3 (the ringer) - many peeps on here (myself included) would recommend disconnecting wire 3 from your Phone sockets, leaving just numbers 2 & 5 connected. In checking this you may find a crossed wires issue, causing the disconnection problem.

      Before you go disconnecting, check out some of the guides that can be found on here and the internet about BT wiring.
      Remember, you're not supposed to touch anything before the main BT socket.

      Good luck!

    5. #4
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone cutting out Broadband

      yep sounds definately like a dodgy filter, I had that problem with Bulldog, switched filter and all was good again
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    6. #5
      spacehappy's Avatar
      spacehappy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Cardiff/ Wales
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone cutting out Broadband

      Thanks for the replies all, about the filters i have no idea i'm not a techie at all when it comes to phones ect.

      But we are having problems with our bt line at the moment it's very crackly. Would that have something to do with it?

    7. #6
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Phone cutting out Broadband

      The line will sound awful if it is unfiltered at ALL points - i.e. you need a filter on the line before each piece of equipment - sky TV box, answerphone, telephone and of course your router. If any piece of equipment i not filtered, it will create a lot of noise on the line and may cause your connection to drop when the phone rings.
      A quick way to check is to disconnect your router from the phone line and see if there is still noise/crackling when you make a call - if the line is clear, then there will be a filter missing somewhere.
      Did you install all the filters that came with the router? 1 on the router, 1 on the sky tv box, 1 on every phone (if you haven't got enough, you will need to get more or unplug the other phones until you do)

      hope this helps.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION