Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

    This is a discussion on noob problem, getting a webpage past router. within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, had a quick flick through couldn't find anything related, so here goes. I installed apache, installed a no- ip ...

    1. #1
      Torpidai's Avatar
      Torpidai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      Hi, had a quick flick through couldn't find anything related, so here goes.

      I installed apache, installed a no-ip thingie, now having shovelled my website to the correct folders, can only access it from my own machine using Default PLESK Page or 127.0.0.1, but not using the new redirect addy, or even from other machines on the network using the same router DG834GT.

      Is there something i've missed? I've turned software firewalls off to no avail, I have a feeling i'm doing something wrong when opening up the ports the apache service uses, but as most of that is automatic, and have tried both inbound and outbound...........

      What have i missed?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      I am positive you will have to open Port 80 on the router for this to work and forward it to the PC that has Plesk / Apache running.

      IE My router is 192.168.0.1 and my PC is 192.168.0.2

      So you would add the rule to the router by doing the following:

      1) Type 192.168.0.1 in your browser

      2) Log in Username: admin Password: sky

      3) Click on Firewall Rules, left hand side of screen

      4) Under Inbound Services, click Add

      5) Choose HTTP(TCP:80) from the drop down box

      6) Action - Allow always

      7) Send to lan server - The PC's IP address hosting Apache / Plesk

      8) Click Apply

      You would not be able to access the website / Plesk by domain name, only locally, ie on your network only by using the methods you posted above.

      Let me know the URL after you have done this or I can try your IP to see if it is working for you.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 01-04-07 at 12:55 AM.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      Also you will need to do the same for Plesk if you want to get to the admin page from outside your network IE off the internet as it uses port 8443 and your login would be similar to

      Code:
      https://www.yourdomain.com:8443/login.php3
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      Torpidai's Avatar
      Torpidai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      Hi, yep everything followed to the letter, still cannot get it through the redirect, http://www.torpidai.hopto.org/ i'm sure things were not this much of a pain in my pre router days lol

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      I would double check your settings etc, as I can see your site, by your IP address,

      It works!
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      Torpidai's Avatar
      Torpidai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      Hmmm Thanks I'll blame the redirects for now then lol ty

    8. #7
      Torpidai's Avatar
      Torpidai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      out of interest which ip? servers or routers?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      Your Sky IP address, that's all I have access to, so your router is forwarding port 80 to your PC with Plesk on it.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noob problem, getting a webpage past router.

      Ignore me - I see I am just repeating what NewsreadeR already said!

      Quote Originally Posted by Torpidai View Post
      Hi, yep everything followed to the letter, still cannot get it through the redirect, http://www.torpidai.hopto.org/ i'm sure things were not this much of a pain in my pre router days lol
      OK, first thing to say is that you cannot use a domain name to view a website that is on your internal IP network. All you should get is either a page not found or a log on box for your router. The reason for this is that the Netgear router, like many others does not support looping back to an internal address from the WAN.

      The basic checklist:

      1: You server is running properly and has been set up correctly
      2: On your Sky router you have set up an INBOUND firewall rule for port 80 HTTP. Outbound is not required. If you are using the port 80 redirect service from No-IP (you don't need to - sky does not block port 80) then port 8833 instead.
      3: You have set up your Dynamic IP service correctly - "no ip" in your case.

      If all this is set up, the next thing to do is ask a friend to check they can access the site using your new domain name.

      Let us know what happens.

      Last edited by the_sky_goat; 01-04-07 at 01:56 AM.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION