Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Need to reboot router every day...

    This is a discussion on Need to reboot router every day... within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm on Max with the NetGear DG834GT. I'm connecting wireless using WEP; usually the following devices are connected: Mac OSX ...

    1. #1
      mark_l_sanders's Avatar
      mark_l_sanders is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chorlton, Manchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need to reboot router every day...

      I'm on Max with the NetGear DG834GT. I'm connecting wireless using WEP; usually the following devices are connected: Mac OSX desktop; OSX laptop; 2 x WinXP laptops; Wii. Variety, huh!

      Anyway - I need to reboot the router at least once a day.

      The main problem is connection to the router w/out connection to the Internet: router status all ok; getting good IP; downstream connection over 9000k (ok, not great, but that's a different issue). So everything looks fine, I can connect OK but there's no Internet: 'i' light on router is green, but still no good until router is rebooted.

      Other problems: connection to the Internet ok, and at decent speed according to router, but Internet very very very slow on any machine: UNTIL route rebooted.

      Does this sound like a faulty router, or just part and parcel of the problems all Sky BB users face??

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tdbsolutions's Avatar
      tdbsolutions is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      185
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      Try switching off the UPnP function on router, solved the connection problems for me.
      One day you are the pigeon, but most days just the statue ...

    4. #3
      mark_l_sanders's Avatar
      mark_l_sanders is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chorlton, Manchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      thanks - I'll try that later and let you know
      mark

    5. #4
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      Think yourself lucky it's only once a day! I keep getting losing the connection. Web pages fail to load. When I log into the router the the router has lost it's IP address. When I press the Sky Test all I get is an error code 300. This happens daily, sometimes every other minute, other times it can be stable for several hours (if you can call that being stable!!!). Requires several re-boots to get back online. Have phoned Tier 3 support who have turned down the line speed but still no luck. I have been told to try the router in the master socket and see what happens then. Just means I then need to use wireless and only get about 3mb/s on wireless compared to upto 12 on wired! Maybe I should have stuck with Pipex!

    6. #5
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      It mat be worth posting your stats taken from the test socket when you can get connected, see this:-
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...ter-stats.html
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    7. #6
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      Thanks for replying. Will post some stats of current setup (router plugged into a hard wired extension) and then plugged into the test socket when I get home this evening.

    8. #7
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      These are my curent stats. Router is fed from a hard wired extension.
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 669398 686099 0 77028 77133 01:56:49
      LAN 10M/100M 692238 675033 0 78565 78137 01:58:10
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 102 0 0 2 0 01:58:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11997 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 14.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.7 db 12.0 db

      True to form, when I came home from work the router had lost it's IP address, error code 300 on sky test. It took a couple of re-boots to bring back online.

      I am going to check the wiring for the extension and make sure only wires 2 and 5 are connected. Will post stats when I have done this.

      Would appreciate comments on what people think about my current stats. Sky have told me the upload NM is fairly high!

    9. #8
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      Hi again
      I have now snipped wires 3 and 4 from the extension cable (both ends) and have the following stats

      WAN PPPoA 150 231 0 17 81 00:12:28
      LAN 10M/100M 814 839 0 436 127 00:13:59
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 71 0 0 13 0 00:13:49


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11997 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.5 db 14.9 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 12.5 db

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      hi
      Well that seems to have improved your downstream noise margin which is good. Use the following tool to extract your full router stats and someone cleverer than me will no doubt help.
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.3
      hope this helps
      dave

    11. #10
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router every day...

      Cheers for the link Dave. Detailed stats as follows:-
      ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime
      Channel: FAST,
      Upstream rate = 764 Kbps,
      Downstream rate = 11997 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 28.5 14.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15940 864
      Rate (Kbps): 11997 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 175(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 63 68
      B: 174 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4654 7.7037
      L: 3283 216
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 228385 228383
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 31517216 1941255
      RSCorr: 2753 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0
      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 103777751 6590235
      Data Cells: 5809192 262702
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0
      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 1 hours 1 min 27 sec
      SF = 228385
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 1 min 27 sec
      SF = 228385
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 27 sec
      SF = 5417
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56038
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56038
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56100
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54792
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION