Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Major woes - wireless connection with router

This is a discussion on Major woes - wireless connection with router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm not too experienced with networking, my two PCs are connected via a LAN cable. I've been asked to help ...

Fogg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Major woes - wireless connection with router

I'm not too experienced with networking, my two PCs are connected via a LAN cable. I've been asked to help get a friend's Sky connection working. So far I've wasted hours on it, but this forum looks like it could be a godsend.

The router appears to be working properly. The Netgear WG111T seems to be working correctly too. For some reason the Netgear software was finding the router, recognising channel 1 was the strongest channel, but kept cycling thru all the channels, never locking on. I ditched that and used Windows XP software instead.

Anyway, the remote PC says "connected to the internet" in the notification area, bottom right. We're also told that we're conencted to the router. However when you open IE you just get a page not found error. It's like the PC is looking for the internet from somewhere other than the wireless connection.

It's been massively frustrating. I can access the router by http://

Any pointers, please?

TIA

Andy

2. Advertisement
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: Major woes - wireless connection with router

did you enter the WAP key at any stage? or have you disabled it? have you changed channel on the router and rescanned? taken out any old internet connections...just in case??