Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

    This is a discussion on Question that's possibly been asked a million times before... within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have a phone cable running up the stairs, with a micro filter on the end, then the sky cable ...

    1. #1
      yatesie's Avatar
      yatesie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

      I have a phone cable running up the stairs, with a micro filter on the end, then the sky cable plugged in. (No phone attached.) Another cable running from the same box with a phone attached, (No micro filter.)

      Internet works fine, then when the phone rings and is answered the connection is lost. It usually takes a restart to make the connection again. Then when the person using the phone hangs up, the conneciton is lost again.

      Is this a common thing, would it be an idea to try putting filters on the other phone lines?

      Thanks in advance for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

      If I understand what you are saying, your 'phone is unfiltered, and the cause of your problem.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

      You MUST have a filter on every bit of equipment whether it be phone, router, sky box, fax etc etc.

    5. #4
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      118
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      You MUST have a filter on every bit of equipment whether it be phone, router, sky box, fax etc etc.
      Unless im mistaken the router is actually unfiltered. Filters have 2 sides phone and adsl, the phones, skybox analogue modems plug into the phone side and your router or adsl modem plug into the unfiltered adsl side of the filter.

      I would plug a filter into your bt master socket and have your extension plugged into that (adsl side). Then simply plug your other devices into the phone side of the filter.

    6. #5
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

      Which would be fine if a standard BT extension would fit in an RJ11 socket!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    7. #6
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      118
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Question that's possibly been asked a million times before...

      haha, i respect your flicky tongue
      must be a converter out there to do the job

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION