Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    more wireless problems......please help

    This is a discussion on more wireless problems......please help within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, IM a noob here................also a noob wireless user ( but i dont think im doin anything wrong) After ...

    1. #1
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      more wireless problems......please help

      Hi all,

      IM a noob here................also a noob wireless user ( but i dont think im doin anything wrong)

      After been messed around by sky with regards to my connection date ( i wont even go their) i eventually got my router yesterday.So i couldnt wait to get started,i installed everything as per the driver disc then watched in horror as my shinny new laptop started to run at 100% all the time.Tryed to boot up in safe mode..........wouldnt work.............tried to delete all the stuff id just installed from the disc,then system restore..........still wouldnt work.Eventually managed to remove the I.E7 and MACafee in add remove programs (took about an hour 2 remove them)then system restore and the laptop was good as new again.So i just pluged the router in this time with no bundled stuff and it was fine.
      Its running great on the eithernet cable but its a joke when i go wireless.
      I have a built in wireless connection and the problem im getting is its either patheticly slow or it just connects then chucks me off ......then connects again etc etc.
      I phoned sky several times and they have been into my settings and say its all correct.
      When i go on the settings page for the router its great speeds, about 7oookbps
      I even done a speed test online and that was fine about 5000kbps d/l
      But when i go wireless it goes silly..............about 56kbps (yes thats right)
      Could there be a conflict with my router and built in wireless...........and do you think it would be worth trying a wireless adaptor.

      cheers in advance.................sorry for the long windedness


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      What wireless adapter in your lappie?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      HI,

      Its a ralink wireless lan card

    5. #4
      tomd84's Avatar
      tomd84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: I bet you would like to know!
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      Quote Originally Posted by shakie1973 View Post
      Hi all,

      IM a noob here................also a noob wireless user ( but i dont think im doin anything wrong)

      After been messed around by sky with regards to my connection date ( i wont even go their) i eventually got my router yesterday.So i couldnt wait to get started,i installed everything as per the driver disc then watched in horror as my shinny new laptop started to run at 100% all the time.Tryed to boot up in safe mode..........wouldnt work.............tried to delete all the stuff id just installed from the disc,then system restore..........still wouldnt work.Eventually managed to remove the I.E7 and MACafee in add remove programs (took about an hour 2 remove them)then system restore and the laptop was good as new again.So i just pluged the router in this time with no bundled stuff and it was fine.
      Its running great on the eithernet cable but its a joke when i go wireless.
      I have a built in wireless connection and the problem im getting is its either patheticly slow or it just connects then chucks me off ......then connects again etc etc.
      I phoned sky several times and they have been into my settings and say its all correct.
      When i go on the settings page for the router its great speeds, about 7oookbps
      I even done a speed test online and that was fine about 5000kbps d/l
      But when i go wireless it goes silly..............about 56kbps (yes thats right)
      Could there be a conflict with my router and built in wireless...........and do you think it would be worth trying a wireless adaptor.

      cheers in advance.................sorry for the long windedness
      How far away is your router posisoined to the laptop? is the anntena tighted up to the router?

    6. #5
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      Try changing the wireless channel in the wireless settings on the router

    7. #6
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      Hi,

      Yeah the antena is tight .............the router is only about 15ft away from the laptop.I had it about 5ft away,the only differance if any was it seemed to stay connected a bit longer.But then it still chucked the connection.
      How do i change the wireless channel in the router settings................remember im a noob so b kind.

      cheers

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

      Change the drop down menu to g & b and then change the channel number then hit apply and keep trying from 1 to 13 (channel numbers)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      Its already set 2 g & b and ita on channel 1.What will changin the channels do? Only askin coz i havent got a clue.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      Different channels can give different results, ie your neighbours could all be on channel 6 and so it is saturated so to speak. It may work or not, but it don't cost you anything to try and if it works, result!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      shakie1973's Avatar
      shakie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      newcastle
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: more wireless problems......please help

      HURRAY,

      Thank you my friend.............you have done in 2 mins what sky havent in 2 days.Changed my channel and its made the world of differance ( i can actually surf now lol)
      I just done a speed test on line(netgear say im getting about 7 meg)I realise when u test online you loose some but im still well chuffed.Getting about 5 meg with the eathernet and about 4 wireless......that i'll do me.

      Thanks again mate...............im all smiles now

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION