Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Wireless used to work but not anymore

    This is a discussion on Wireless used to work but not anymore within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have been using my broadband on my pc since Oct'06 including on my sons laptop, using a wireless adaptor ...

    1. #1
      matt18's Avatar
      matt18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless used to work but not anymore

      I have been using my broadband on my pc since Oct'06 including on my sons laptop, using a wireless adaptor from sky,with no problems. Since last night the laptop will not work, I have tried the adaptor in my desktop and it works fine . I have tried all I know with no success,including win xp repair which says cannot renew ip address, the connection to the router is ok. Anyone got any ideas.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hermann's Avatar
      hermann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stockport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      I had that error and other including ip conflict and a hanging 'acquiring network address'... possibly an issue with XP sp2.

      If you've not already, I would try reserving an ip for each computer to see if that makes a difference.

      Log in to the router @ http://192.168.0.1

      Make sure "Use Router as DHCP Server" is ticked

      Then reserve an ip for each of the computers - just enter the MAC address for each computer and set it to its own ip address... like 192.168.0.25 for the laptop and 192.168.0.75 for the desktop.

      I'm still yet to find out for sure if this was what cured my problems but I got online after doing that without any issues.

    4. #3
      matt18's Avatar
      matt18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      Thanks Hermann have tried that and it held the ip address but still nothing.I have since connected the laptop via lan and still nothing. Does anyone think it could be an internet explorer problem, I cannot see it being hardware as neither wirless or lan will not work I am stuck for what to try next.

      Help please!!!

    5. #4
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      Did you install or update anything before it stopped working?

    6. #5
      matt18's Avatar
      matt18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      It was last used for internet last sat 10/2/07 , nothing was updated or installed and it just wouldnt connect Mon onwards. I also have a wii in the house and the wireless works with that so its just the laptop thats not working.

    7. #6
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      Well I think we can probably safely say its a software issue. So we need to check all settings.

      You say you can log into the router, is that from the laptop itself?

      Check the proxy settings in Internet Explorer (Tools, options, connections, Lan Settings). There should be no proxy there.

      Any firewalls?

      Go to start, run and type cmd then click OK
      When the black window appears type ipconfig.

      What've you got there?

      Anyway to get Firefox (or Opera, or whatever) on the laptop (download from PC to USB flash drive, CD writer etc) - just to eliminate a problem with Internet Explorer itself (as you suspect).

    8. #7
      matt18's Avatar
      matt18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      I am at work at mo but will have a look when I get home and post settings will also try accessing router from laptop. thanks for the help Steve.

    9. #8
      matt18's Avatar
      matt18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      I have just tried firefox no joy,could not log on to router with laptop.Opened the netgear software and it says there is a full signal (48mbps) but did notice a load of - -- -- -- where it usually shows ip address. All anti virus and firewalls shut down.
      Ip config
      IP 192.168.0.3
      Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
      Def gateway 192.168.0.1
      and no proxy in internet settings.

      I havent a clue whats stopping it working.

    10. #9
      stevelaw's Avatar
      stevelaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (01642)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      191
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      Quote Originally Posted by matt18 View Post
      but did notice a load of - -- -- -- where it usually shows ip address.
      Which section is that?

      Hang on I'm confused. You couldn't log into the router with the laptop? So did you "Open the netgear software" on the desktop?

      Where is that ipconfig from, laptop or desktop?
      Last edited by stevelaw; 15-02-07 at 07:49 PM.

    11. #10
      matt18's Avatar
      matt18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless used to work but not anymore

      All info and things done are from the laptop. I dont know if you are conversant with the netgear software but when you open it on the bottom line of the box it reads from left to right
      sky 57688 then -------- then 48mbps then signal...... (dots for strength and are all lit)
      Hope you understand this.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION