Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Turning off wireless

    This is a discussion on Turning off wireless within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; As I am not very confident with computers, I am happy to keep my broadband through my phone wire. Watching ...

    1. #1
      Linda's Avatar
      Linda is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Turning off wireless

      As I am not very confident with computers, I am happy to keep my broadband through my phone wire. Watching "The Real Hustle" and seeing how easy it was to hack into someone's connection has left me terrified that I may, with the new Sky wireless router, still be transmitting wirelessly despite being hard wired...
      I know that someone else had mentioned unticking
      Enable wireless access point, and unticking
      Allow Broadcast of name (SSID) but can you tell me where these options are please?

      Thanks,
      Linda.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Turning off wireless

      Log into your router with your browser.

      192.168.0.1

      Log in admin

      Password sky

      Look for wireless settings

      Hope this helps

    4. #3
      Linda's Avatar
      Linda is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning off wireless

      Thank you I have done that now, does this now mean nobody else can pick up anything that would be sent on a wireless network (sorry, I'm a bit thick!)

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Turning off wireless

      The Sky wireless interface is secure as it needs you to enter a network key into you PC that matches the one for you box, its on the little card that came with the router, and also printer on its bottom.
      Now you have switched it off, your wireless light should have gone off, and you are no longer transmitting or able to receive wireless data.
      If you want you could unscrew the aerial on the router for neatness.

      If you ever need to reset your router via the hole in the back(pressing for about 10 seconds) then you will have to turn off the wireless once again.

    6. #5
      Linda's Avatar
      Linda is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning off wireless

      Thank you very much for making that so easy, I feel happier now that's done!

    7. #6
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turning off wireless

      i wouldnt be to worried about the wireless i understand ur worries but the broadnad box has wpa security as stsndard

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION