Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Netgear Sky Router

    This is a discussion on Netgear Sky Router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have this router and all is well when my laptop is connected via wire. When I wirelessly connect, wireless ...

    1. #1
      shaunrichardson's Avatar
      shaunrichardson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear Sky Router

      I have this router and all is well when my laptop is connected via wire. When I wirelessly connect, wireless built into latop, getting excellent connection (54mbs), then it starts going down and slow. Would a netgear wireless card (108mbps) improve matters??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Sky Router

      Welcome to the site shaunrichardson

      It might be a good idea to go into the router and play with the Wireless Settings ie:
      Channel:
      Mode:

      and disable upnp could help as well that tends to cause problems.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      bry's Avatar
      bry
      bry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Welcome to the site shaunrichardson

      It might be a good idea to go into the router and play with the Wireless Settings ie:
      Channel:
      Mode:

      and disable upnp could help as well that tends to cause problems.
      Hi,this is my first time on this site after trying to resolve my prob. with both sky and netgear.I have a pc working ok using a wg111t dongle but the other pc using another wg111t will not lock on to the signal,it shows a strong signal strength but just keeps going through all the channels but not locking on.To make matters worse after reinstalling the software a few times the software wont get past telling me to turn off ,plug in the dongle and reboot,when I do this it just goes thru its uninstall proceedure again ,I am stuck in this loop ,as it wont even let me completely remove the program from my program list now. The kit should come with a 2pound lump hammer! Cheers Bry.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Sky Router

      Welcome to the site bry

      I take it you don't have system restore set and running on the PC if you do try and go back to before the first time you installed the software for it, if not then you could try using this program Your Uninstaller! 2006 it should remove the program and all the reg entries. If that works try rinstalling the software again.


      It sounds to me as though you are using the wrong type of security in the card have you got it set to WEP or WPA ?

      You could also try that dongle in the PC that does work to make sure its not faulty.

      I hope this helps if not just yell
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Sky Router

      Description of the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility (download link is at bottom of page)

      another useful cleaner upper for software that cannot be removed if temp files etc missing.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    7. #6
      bry's Avatar
      bry
      bry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Sky Router

      Hi,i,ll try restore,didnt think of the obvious,I am using the security code that came with the sky netgear kit and was origonally installed by sky ,(i am using the same code for both pc.s)on works ok getting online wth a strong signal so i tried swapping dongles they both work on the ok p.c.I have tried the pc in the same room as the modem and although it show a strong signal it associates but cant fix on.If I change channels do I have to change to the same on both pc.s (I dont want to mess up the one thats working!)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION