Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

And then my PC died...

This is a discussion on And then my PC died... within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm new to Connect and had got my laptop (this is what I am typing on) connected via the cable ...

hermann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stockport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

And then my PC died...

I'm new to Connect and had got my laptop (this is what I am typing on) connected via the cable and my PC in another room connected by the Netgear WG111v2 USB sold to me by Sky.

Everything was working okay for a week but yesterday I was struggling to keep a connection and then it was telling me of ip conflicts and that it couldn't renew ips etc. I went into the router and set my laptop and the PC their own ips and all was well for a while.

Today the connection died and I tried repairing the connection, rebooting the router etc and since it didn't help, I tried uninstalling the USB stuff using its own wizard which prompted XP to start freezing up and hang. I managed to boot up and finish the un-install, rebooted and installed the software again. For the next hour of so while the software was on my PC, my whole comp kept freezing up. When I disabled the Netgear software from running actively, the PC worked fine.

So I began thinking there must be some conflict going on with XP or something (I'm not technically gifted as you can tell!) and decided to reboot my PC and go start reading up on the net using my laptop.