Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Can I Switch Off Wireless?

    This is a discussion on Can I Switch Off Wireless? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I cant find the answer to this question on the forum.......... I dont (yet!) have any wireless enabled device so ...

    1. #1
      dotdotuk's Avatar
      dotdotuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Can I Switch Off Wireless?

      I cant find the answer to this question on the forum..........

      I dont (yet!) have any wireless enabled device so it seems pointless to leave the wireless access open. Can I just untick both "Enable Wireless Access Point " and "Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID) " in order to turn it off?


      I have just joined Sky BB and can I say I have already found these forums useful - for example you may be interested to know that I like many of you cannot log onto the portal!

      Cheers,

      Henry


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can I Switch Off Wireless?

      Yes - that will do the job




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I Switch Off Wireless?

      Welcome to the site Henry

      Yes you can and that will do it nicely
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      dotdotuk's Avatar
      dotdotuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I Switch Off Wireless?

      Thanks lads.

      Cheers,

      Henry

    6. #5
      snake's Avatar
      snake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I Switch Off Wireless?

      Can i just ask there henry what you mean by logging onto the portal?
      Last edited by Saturday; 27-01-07 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Removed full quote of preceding post

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION