Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    VPN access to corporate network over Sky

    This is a discussion on VPN access to corporate network over Sky within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; can anyone help - I need to use my Sky Broadband connection to access my work's Corporate network from home. ...

    1. #1
      garryprior's Avatar
      garryprior is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      can anyone help - I need to use my Sky Broadband connection to access my work's Corporate network from home. I have the Cisco VPN client running on my laptop, and have configured three new inbound VPN rules on the Netgear wireless router (as described by NewreadeR on this forum recently), however I still cannot get the VPN connection working.

      Looking at the log files it seems that the router is still blocking the packets for some reason, do I need to open any other specific ports ?

      I used Tiscali for 2 years before Sky and never had any problems - as my main reason for having Internet access at home is for work, I will have no choice but to go back to Tiscali, who are more expensive and provide a slower service, but at least it works.

      thanks for any help anybody ??!!

      Garry


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      garryprior's Avatar
      garryprior is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Update - I just spoke to Sky Tech support, they tell me they block TCP Port 1723, which is the port my work's IT people say needs to be open. So unless anyone knows any way around this it looks like its au revoir to Sky Broadband for me! I hope their cancellation/migration process is painless but something tells me not...

      With the number of people who work from home these days, not allowing VPN access corporate networks seems a very strange/short-sighted decision by Sky and will surely prove a barrier to many people taking up the service. I don't know if anyone from Sky monitors this forum but if so can you give any insight into this decision ?

    4. #3
      Scrubbless's Avatar
      Scrubbless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      With the number of people who work from home these days, not allowing VPN access corporate networks seems a very strange/short-sighted decision by Sky and will surely prove a barrier to many people taking up the service. I don't know if anyone from Sky monitors this forum but if so can you give any insight into this decision ?
      It does seem a bit strange that they block ports needed. But the CoC for Sky says its for Home use only and not to be used to Coperate/business use.

      Only way I could think you could get round this is use a Proxy server to channel the VPN via a different port. But that will be slow. I doubt Sky will open that port on request, they seem to be very stubborn .

    5. #4
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      Take a look at Open VPN, it works perfectly with our systems and might be the work around that you need;

      OpenVPN - An Open Source SSL VPN Solution by James Yonan
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    6. #5
      garryprior's Avatar
      garryprior is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      Hi,
      thanks for the suggestions both, unfortunately I don't have the option to start adding new software or servers, as I work for a big corporate company who aren't going to let me start doing things differently to everyone else.

      the frustrating thing is I've come across others on this forum who seem to have VPN connections working fine, so not sure what is going on really

    7. #6
      Scrubbless's Avatar
      Scrubbless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      Thats a shame... Im not sure of what options you have. Maybe you should confront your company and get them to pay for your broadband :P

      (The proxy server idea would not effect the corperate network you want to connect to. But like I said its not idea (or fast). So you'd be better off with an ISP that had the port open).

    8. #7
      m1keb's Avatar
      m1keb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      I too had problems with CICSCO VPN. I was using VPN Client release V3.6 or something like that. Installed VPN Client rel 4.6.04 and everything appears OK.

    9. #8
      marklid's Avatar
      marklid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      Mine (which seems to be working OK) is verison 4.0.5.

      I still have only used it for half an hour or so at a time - next week I will be using it for 2 days on the trot so will have a better idea of how robust it is.

      This week it has been more stable then it was when I was on Plusnet, but this could just be coincidence.

    10. #9
      fezz's Avatar
      fezz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone (When it works)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Poole
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      I use the Cisco VPN client to access my work and it works perfectly, i'm running version 4.6.01.0019

      I didnt need to change anything on my router.

      Try putting your PC on the DMZ and see if it works then.... Just to see if its the router or not

    11. #10
      cjf50's Avatar
      cjf50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leighton Buzzard
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPN access to corporate network over Sky

      I also work from home on occasions.
      Switched from NTL to SKY just before Christmas.
      I run VPN Cisco client v 4.6.02.00.0011
      Didnt have to make any router changes with NTL or SKY it just worked first time.
      Transport is set to use IP sec over UDP not TCP - dont know what difference that makes!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION