Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    problems with 2 laptops

    This is a discussion on problems with 2 laptops within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Well after 2 weeks of zero tech support from sky I am hoping there will a member who can supply ...

    1. #1
      richard911's Avatar
      richard911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      problems with 2 laptops

      Well after 2 weeks of zero tech support from sky I am hoping there will a member who can supply me with the cure!!, I recently bought 2 new laptops, 1 advent 7108 and an HP dv2120, when i initially booted both these they found the network with no problem via their in built wireless units, but 2 weeks ago its a different story, the HP can locate the router, but cant connect, just goes on and on, and the advent cant see a wireless network at all !!, been waiting now level 2 support now for 2 weeks only to be told buy a netgear dongle!!!, well to hell with that, why would they work in first place and then 2 weeks later nothing??. one belongs to the wife and the other to my 21 year old, neither of which wouldnt know where to start to alter any settings, so thats out the scenario, please can anyone help???
      Richard911


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I don't know if you have read this

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

      Also make sure the wireless is switched on on both laptops, there should be a switch on the front or side of either, sometimes these can be switched off inadvertedly.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      richard911's Avatar
      richard911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi Newsreader, yes done all that, what i cannot get my head around is the fact that both laptops initially worked on the network!. Now here is the strange thing, her laptop wireless network connection status shows its connected @ 54mbps, however only packets sent, none received, so again no web pages coming up, properties show the IP address as 192.168.0.8, subnet mask is 255.255.255.0, default gateway is 192.168.0.1, and the DNS server is 192.168.0.1. Well I am absolutley baffled at this problem, which as previouly stated wasnt there to start with.

    5. #4
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Can you still access the routers web interface?

      If so, what does it say under "Connection status?"

      Also, tried changing the wireless channel?

    6. #5
      richard911's Avatar
      richard911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      well you wont believe this but i have i have turned the security off on the router and hey presto, 2 working wireless laptops!!!!!

    7. #6
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: problems with 2 laptops

      Whatever you do, don't leave it like that. Without security people have access to your internet connection AND your laptops.

      Try re-enabling security using WEP. it's not quite as secure but it does tend to be more reliable.

    8. #7
      Scrubbless's Avatar
      Scrubbless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: problems with 2 laptops

      Whatever you do, don't leave it like that. Without security people have access to your internet connection AND your laptops.

      Try re-enabling security using WEP. it's not quite as secure but it does tend to be more reliable.

      If you can't have encryption you are leaving yourself open.. Mac Adress filter can help... but its easy to break. The preson connection just needs to 'Spoof' (clone) the mac address. Problem with Mac Addresses is they are Broadcasted to everyone... so basically anyone wanting to listen can read your un-encrypted transmission and find out your Mac address (since the security is on your Router not machine).. then use that Mac address to connect to your router and leech your bandwidth.
      Also change your routers login password.. if you leave it as the default its not hard at all to guess it (sky) and log in playing about with your settings.

      Also an non encrypted wireless means you have no protection.. people could interecpt your web traffic.. WHich is a real problem for online banking, online purchases, emailing etc...

      I'd seriously suggest you stick the encryption back on, and experiment with some different channels.
      Last edited by Scrubbless; 09-01-07 at 12:50 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION