Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Problems with my Sky Router

    This is a discussion on Problems with my Sky Router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've been connected wirelessly to my laptop for about 3 weeks now. Last night however when I was trying to ...

    1. #1
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with my Sky Router

      I've been connected wirelessly to my laptop for about 3 weeks now. Last night however when I was trying to use my laptop downstairs it couldn't connect to the wireless network. I've never had a problem before and this just happened out of the blue. My Sky router is connected by ethernet to my desktop PC upstairs.

      I came upstairs and sat near to the router and it worked fine. However if I move my laptop more than about 5 metres away or out of the line of sight, it won't connect anymore.

      Am I doing anything wrong? Is there something that is blocking this?
      I would really appreciate any help possible as it's no use having a wireless system if I can't move around!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Have you tried changing the channels on the router for the wireless?

      It may be that the particular channel you are using has become saturated, ie neighbours etc.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Try changing the wireless channel on the router.

      Maybe you or a neighbour has bought some other wireless equipment that is now interfering.

    5. #4
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Very nearly word for word the same post

    6. #5
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by dgilbert2 View Post
      Try changing the wireless channel on the router.

      Maybe you or a neighbour has bought some other wireless equipment that is now interfering.
      Thanks for the advice guys...but how do I go about changing the channel?

    7. #6
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Login in to your router web interface at http://192.168.0.1

      Goto "Wireless Settings" and then choose a different "channel" and click on apply.

      If you do this wirelessly you will then loose the link. It should then re-connect though, if not just re-boot your computer.

    8. #7
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with my Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by dgilbert2 View Post
      Login in to your router web interface at http://192.168.0.1

      Goto "Wireless Settings" and then choose a different "channel" and click on apply.

      If you do this wirelessly you will then loose the link. It should then re-connect though, if not just re-boot your computer.
      Thanks for this dilbert.

      Is there any specific channel I should try? or do I just choose any?

    9. #8
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems with my Sky Router

      The channel number does not really matter.

      Try going up four or down four and seeing if it improves.

    10. #9
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with my Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by dgilbert2 View Post
      The channel number does not really matter.

      Try going up four or down four and seeing if it improves.
      Thanks so much for your help Dgilbert. It seems to be working now.
      This forum is such a help!

    11. #10
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problems with my Sky Router

      Glad you got it sorted!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION