Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    i cant get my laptop to work with my sky wireless router

    This is a discussion on i cant get my laptop to work with my sky wireless router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by onejlr yes i can connect via a cable no probs, ive checked all the wires, ive even ...

    1. #21
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by onejlr View Post
      yes i can connect via a cable no probs, ive checked all the wires, ive even been on the phone to sky for an hour and she didnt know what was wrong!
      If it's not on her list, she wouldn't
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sorry no i havent connected via a cable my husband still looking for one, sorry

    4. #23
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Are you using your Sky BB connection to post here? If so, how are you connecting to the Router at present?
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    5. #24
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sorry no not connected via cable yet husband still looking for one, sorry

    6. #25
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      ????? How have you switched off the security without a lead ????

      Also, to add to the confusion, check that Internet Explorer, under "Options" "Connections" "LAN settings" that all tick boxes are CLEAR.

    7. #26
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      @ onejlr. It's all getting a bit confusing. Can you be very specific and answer the following:

      1. Can you log into your router (192.168.0.1) via ethernet cable
      2. Can you surf the net via cable
      3. Have you logged into teh router and switch off all wireless security
      4. Can you log into your router via wireless
      5. Can you surf wirelessly (with WPA/WEP security).

    8. #27
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sorry no i havent connected via cable yet my husband cant find one, sorry

    9. #28
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Maybe its time to have another go with a fresh head tomorrow

      All the clues are in this thread but you must slowly do what has been suggested and then compose a single response.

    10. #29
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      What about the one that came with the router?

      Okay, so we can assume that the WPA security is still on. so we'll try to fix irt without.

      Go to your router and look on the bottom, there is a sticker with a network key.

      Use this to try to connect to the router when it asks for the key (ie'view available networks' and your SKYxxxxx should be listed, double click this and enter the network key off the sticker)

    11. #30
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      @onejlr

      Did you get this working in the end, if so what was wrong?

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION