Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    i cant get my laptop to work with my sky wireless router

    This is a discussion on i cant get my laptop to work with my sky wireless router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; i have tried this and it asks me to input more than 8 characters...

    1. #11
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i have tried this and it asks me to input more than 8 characters


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dgilbert2 View Post
      First thing to try is logging into the router via a wired connection and turning off wireless security.

      Now try the laptop, if it then works your WEP or WPA security settings are not correct on the laptop.
      Try turning off security to get a connection
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    4. #13
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ive tried my laptop is right next to the router and it still doesnt work! my patience is wearing very thin!!

    5. #14
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      419
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      If your laptop is still asking for a key, security is still active on the router.
      A simple crude speed test:-

      Download Test.


    6. #15
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ive turned off security and it still doesnt work, its saying its connected but it doesnt go on the internet

    7. #16
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,028
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
      Can you log into the router by connecting via an ethernet cable.

      If so, do as suggested and switch off the security (ie switch off WEP/WPA) and then try to see if you can connect wirelessly.

      If so, then log back into the router and switch WPA back on and set your own key.

      Make sure if you choose WPA that your wireless adapter can also do WPA otherwise you will need to choose WEP.

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,028
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
      So can you log onto the router wirelessly, but not the internet?

      Can you log onto the internet if connected via cable.

      When I first got Sky, I could connect wirelessly but got no internet, I then realised I hadn't quite pushed the phone cable into the router properly!!!!!

    9. #18
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      419
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by onejlr View Post
      ive turned off security and it still doesnt work, its saying its connected but it doesnt go on the internet
      Your getting there! Can you now login in to the routers Web interface from your laptop at http://192.168.0.1
      A simple crude speed test:-

      Download Test.


    10. #19
      onejlr's Avatar
      onejlr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yes i can connect via a cable no probs, ive checked all the wires, ive even been on the phone to sky for an hour and she didnt know what was wrong!

    11. #20
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,028
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts
      Okay, so now connect wirelessly without WPA/WEP security and can you log onto the router as dgilbert2 says?

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION