Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    wireless setup help please?

    This is a discussion on wireless setup help please? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All.....some advice for this total wireless networking novice would be really appreciated......... I have had Sky BB for couple ...

    1. #1
      kezmarty's Avatar
      kezmarty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless setup help please?

      Hi All.....some advice for this total wireless networking novice would be really appreciated.........

      I have had Sky BB for couple of months and just left the router plugged in with the Ethernet cable to my Vaio Media Centre PC. No probs and really fast & stable.

      However Santa brought me a new Laptop so I have been trying to configure the routers wireless settings. I plugged in the Ethernet cable and used the excellent tutorial on this site, filling in all the wireless settings correctly but when I tried 'setup access list' there were no connections available. I tried manually entering the device name & MAC address but still no connectivity.

      The wireless is activated on the laptop and the wireless light illuminated on the router.

      My laptop has a Ralink wireless card, I am guessing that it is not communicating with the router? It states that it is 'disconnected' when you open it and finds nothing when you search/refresh. When I try the Windows 'wireless connection' search/refresh it finds no networks.

      I'm sorry if this has been discussed elsewhere (I couldn't find it) or I am being really dumb & missing something simple but again, any help would be appreciated........

      Cheers,
      Martin.....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      benaline's Avatar
      benaline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      If it is a built in wireless card, maybe the wireless card on the laptop is turned off...most laptops have a button or key combination to turn the wireless back on, just a thought...

    4. #3
      kezmarty's Avatar
      kezmarty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      When I found the miniscule wireless on button on the front of the laptop yesterday I thought I had cracked it......Unfortunately not..Thanks anyway
      Last edited by kezmarty; 02-01-07 at 11:19 AM.

    5. #4
      pauljgoodman's Avatar
      pauljgoodman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Sarratt
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      no connection?

      Probably not the answer to your problem, but do ensure the silly little antenna on the router box is screwed on tight. I failed to do this, and wasted hours before I noticed it. Then it all worked well!

    6. #5
      benaline's Avatar
      benaline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Hmmm, on the front of laptop, eh?....is it an acer by any chance, with a thin orange button? Apologies if I'm on a wild goose chase, but had numerous problems with these....

    7. #6
      kezmarty's Avatar
      kezmarty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No it's an Advent, slid the button & wireless LED illuminates...Only found it when I read the manual....Memo to self: always read manual first...

      Tried antenna.......tight....!

    8. #7
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Try latest driver and utility Ralink Technology: Windows fourth down in list.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    9. #8
      hogfather's Avatar
      hogfather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleckheaton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless setup help please?

      had a similar problem, laptop wouldn't connect unless it was about 5 feet from router. went back to my old belkin router after hacking the login and password details. working fine now, touch wood.

    10. #9
      Suffering Sam's Avatar
      Suffering Sam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 952
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless setup help please?

      How do you hack that ? WUd be wonderful news to many ift hey can use their own/other routers, so that blocked portals become freely available.

    11. #10
      hogfather's Avatar
      hogfather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleckheaton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless setup help please?

      in the technical forum, the first post. there is a link that explains how to do it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION