Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Can connect to network, but cant browse internet

    This is a discussion on Can connect to network, but cant browse internet within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there, I can't seem to get my wireless laptop to use the internet even though the status says its ...

    1. #1
      immy's Avatar
      immy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can connect to network, but cant browse internet

      Hi there,

      I can't seem to get my wireless laptop to use the internet even though the status says its connected (signal strength: excellent).

      I'm using the Sky Netgear router and the netgear usb adapter wg111t. The internet is working on two other pc's using the same network.

      If I plug a network cable into the laptop, the internet will work, but if i switch the usb adaptor i get no success.

      I've already tried the wireless tutorial posted on this site, but i'm really stuck on this one.

      If you need more info than what i've given, please let me know.

      Any help would be much appreciated.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Start>run>cmd>ok

      Type ipconfig>enter

      With network cable unplugged abd wireless adapter in place.

      Post results please.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      immy's Avatar
      immy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Here you go:

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxx
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-23-7B-3A-C5

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-46-B7-01-96

      Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 7:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WG111T 108Mbps Wireless USB2.0 Adapter #5
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-6C-E8-4E-7C
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

      thanks in advance

    5. #4
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      At command prompt type netsh winsock reset, restart machine and try again.

      Have you tried the onboard Intel wireless?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    6. #5
      immy's Avatar
      immy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tried netsh winsock reset and restarted the machine and no effect

      Tried using the on board wireless device, but when i enter the network password its says it needs to be 40bits or 140bits depending on network configuration.

    7. #6
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Have you tried disabling wireless security?

      Just a thought.

    8. #7
      immy's Avatar
      immy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      here the ipconfig /all for the on board wireless (if it helps):

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxx
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mi
      ni PCI Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-23-7B-3A-C5
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.207.71
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-46-B7-01-96

    9. #8
      immy's Avatar
      immy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      dgillbert2,

      i'll give that a shot...

    10. #9
      immy's Avatar
      immy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hey,

      Got it working with the security turned off.

      How do I get it to work with security turned on?

      Thanks in advance

    11. #10
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Need to check how the router is setup, ie WEP or WPA security and then copy the relavent security code into your wireless connection security settings, selecting WEP/WPA as appropriate.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION