Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Battling to sort out my wireless connection

    This is a discussion on Battling to sort out my wireless connection within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; And I garuntee once you disable Security you will get it to work! If that does happen please enable security ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      And I garuntee once you disable Security you will get it to work!

      If that does happen please enable security back on ASAP!

      If it does work with security off then you can be sure its a WEP key issue!
      As I got that until I entered the key correctly!

      Best thing is to connect via ethernet copy&paste the key and try connecting!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      And I garuntee once you disable Security you will get it to work!

      If that does happen please enable security back on ASAP!

      If it does work with security off then you can be sure its a WEP key issue!
      As I got that until I entered the key correctly!

      Best thing is to connect via ethernet copy&paste the key and try connecting!
      Sorry FibreOptic

      How do I disable security? And where do I copy and paste the key from and to where?

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Or sorry! I should've explained it better!

      Connect via ethernet and go into the router page; 192.168.0.1
      username; admin
      password; sky


      Wirless settings and the key should be there!

      Then Save that into somewhere!

      Disable the wireless security from the Wireless Settings Menu and try connecting!

      If you can! Put the settings to the way they were and use the key that you copied earlier! and paste it into the Wirless Connection Settings Password Dialog Window on your computer!

    5. #14
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Or sorry! I should've explained it better!

      Connect via ethernet and go into the router page; 192.168.0.1
      username; admin
      password; sky


      Wirless settings and the key should be there!

      Then Save that into somewhere!

      Disable the wireless security from the Wireless Settings Menu and try connecting!

      If you can! Put the settings to the way they were and use the key that you copied earlier! and paste it into the Wirless Connection Settings Password Dialog Window on your computer!
      Thanks for your help FibreOptic but it appears I'm a hopeless case. I'm not getting anywhere.

      I've followed your instructions but doesn't seem to be making any difference. When do I remove the yellow cable? And does it make any difference what channel and mode I've got setup on the Wireless Settings page?

    6. #15
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not sure what I've done but now it says that my Wireless Network Connection is "Not connected". Previously it was connected but when I removed the yellow cable I could not access the internet.
      Now it says that I'm not even connected.

      Is the "Channel" and the "Mode" used on the Wireless Settings page important?

    7. #16
      bozzie555's Avatar
      bozzie555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Woo Hoo.....I've done it. Don't ask me how but it's working!!

      Thanks everyone for all your help and especially for your patience with a rookie like me!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION