Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Connection speed between pc/laptop & router?

This is a discussion on Connection speed between pc/laptop & router? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Dear all, I'm kind of new to sky broadband only having experienced wanadoo before with no problems. I have a ...

Graham H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Connection speed between pc/laptop & router?

Dear all,

I'm kind of new to sky broadband only having experienced wanadoo before with no problems. I have a desktop pc and a laptop trying to access the sky router wirelessly and the connection from the router to the outside world is stable and constant, however, the connection between the pc/laptop and the router seems to be a bit hit and miss, varying from 1.0Mbps to 54.0Mbps and constantly changing.

Basically, it's driving me crackers! I have tried putting the the router on a high shelf, and even next to the laptop to still be greeted with a very slow connection speed.

With my old wanadoo package, the speed between the laptop and router was constant, regardless of where i was in the house or the colour of socks i was wearing so what's the deal with the sky router? Is it broken?

Any advice gratefully received.

Many thanks, Graham.

2. Advertisement
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks
      Getting a good constant speed via wireless can be a real problem sometimes. Often it is due to signal strength fluctuations, other times hardware incompatibilities and even interference from other devices.