Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Belkin N1 Wireless Desktop Card and Sky router problem

    This is a discussion on Belkin N1 Wireless Desktop Card and Sky router problem within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey everyone, im new to this forum and will appreciate any help you can give me on this issue!! My ...

    1. #1
      DukeHazard's Avatar
      DukeHazard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Belkin N1 Wireless Desktop Card and Sky router problem

      Hey everyone, im new to this forum and will appreciate any help you can give me on this issue!!

      My sky broadband has been activated for over a month. I installed a belkin N1 desktop wireless card last week and have been unable to connect wirelessly. Sky support has sent me from pillar to post and cannot get a connection.

      Since installing my belkin it has been able to detect my neighbours connection but not my Sky one...until last night. when i clicked to connect to my sky it trys to for about a minute then stops. this morning it now cant detect sky but yet can still detect my neighbours!

      is there a conflict between belkin and netgear routers? i am puzzled as to why it all of a sudden detected my network but could not connect and why it has suddenly disappeared again. the router is about 10 metres from my computer.

      how can i detect my network again and when i do how can i get it to actually connect for surfing?

      thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome To Skyuser . Not sure Belkin stated that I could not use my Belkin Access Point so I tried and it works 100% and I use their Ethernet cards, All I can suggest is phone Belkin's Free support phone number and see what they say.

    4. #3
      DukeHazard's Avatar
      DukeHazard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks pete
      I am a newbie when it comes to wireless connecting. Are you saying i can use a belkin access point instead of skys? if so how do i do this?

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No you use Skys supplied router

      Ps whats the model number of the card ?
      Last edited by Hornet; 09-12-06 at 10:20 PM.

    6. #5
      DukeHazard's Avatar
      DukeHazard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ok....i think!

      i am using sky's netgear router, it is set up and all the lights are doing what they are supposed to do. my wireless desktop card appears to be doing its job because it is detecting other networks in the vicinity. it just isnt detecting the sky network router.

      i did ring belkin also last night and they basicaly ran through the things that sky support did - changing between WEP and WPA mainly. sadly to no avail.

      can you advise anything else because belkin and sky have so far been of no use. it just doesnt seem to make sense......router + wireless card = online!!

      i am simplifying the process i know but it is very frustating!!

      thanks in advance

    7. #6
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hmm if the wireless is enabled you should be able to see it in your wireless networks and you have put the WPA-PSK/WEP key in it should connect.

      I have a F5D7000 125g PCI card and that finds the Sky router and the Belkin Access point and connect 100% if yours doesn't there must be a fault I would have thought.
      Last edited by Hornet; 09-12-06 at 10:32 PM.

    8. #7
      DukeHazard's Avatar
      DukeHazard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      model number is F5D8001

    9. #8
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I would think that the DG834GT doesn't support your wireless card is the only thing I can say but it seems strage that belkin didn't state anything like that but am studying the manuals.
      Last edited by Hornet; 09-12-06 at 10:50 PM.

    10. #9
      DukeHazard's Avatar
      DukeHazard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks pete
      your help is appreciated. if you get to the bottom of it let me know. ill keep on it!!

    11. #10
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      How far away is the router, if its far away have you tried putting it next to you pc and seeing if it lists it ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION