Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38

    Wireless speeds 10% of ethernet speeds

    This is a discussion on Wireless speeds 10% of ethernet speeds within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi everyone. I just bought and installed my ADSL Nation faceplate and am connecting at far greater speeds than previously, ...

    1. #1
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless speeds 10% of ethernet speeds

      Hi everyone.

      I just bought and installed my ADSL Nation faceplate and am connecting at far greater speeds than previously, so thanks for the info on that.

      However, this now means I have my router downstairs and my PC is upstairs. No problem I thought, i'll just use a Netgear USB wireless connection. This is leading to rubbish speedtests though, at no more than 512kb downloads. When I trail an ethernet lead down the steps I get 4000kb speeds.

      I am using the Sky router (set to auto108Mbps) with a 54Mbps Netgear USB adaptor, and the wireless connection itself is usually rated as 'very good' and 18-24Mbps, which I thought is easily capable of 5MB broadband.

      Please help, I must be doing something wrong, surely! I don't want to have to find a way of routing my ethernet lead through the house.

      Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi

      Try changing the channel in the router for the wireless, that sometimes helps




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Hi

      Try changing the channel in the router for the wireless, that sometimes helps
      I have tried on numerous channels. Also, I have locked out all other MAC addresses, so I know nobody is stealing my bandwidth.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Have you tried it on WPA?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

      in there somewhere




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just had a look in my router settings and it is set to WPA-PSK already.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Try it on WEP? sorry running out of ideas, someone will be along sooner or later to help




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      there was a useful link on the forum somewhere, sorry can't remember where. But basically it was the TCP optimiser stuff. It took my wireless link from 2.5Mb to about 12Mb. It made it more stable as well. At least it did for about 2 weeks. This week it's been playing up something rotten. The ADSL part of the router has never been great and goes really slow almost every day, usually when it's not been used for a good number of hours. And I have to reboot the router to get it back up to speed. Anyway if I come across the link I'll point you to it.
      Optimising your Broadband Connection

      Try that?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No, that didn't work.

      I am sat here with both the ethernet cable in and the wireless adaptor and enabling/disabling them one directly after the other and the difference is ridiculous really.

      It must be something i'm doing wrong, I just can't see how the difference would be so great.

      Thanks for your help anyway.

      PS - tried the TCP optimiser too, the other day. No change...

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Really stuck now - just done a search on slow + wireless

      If you are running only 1 pc, I would recommend that you use ethernet, as I would for any connection to the internet. If however you feel you want to go wireless then disable the ethernet connection by unplugging it or right clicking the lan connection in the control panel and selecting disable. Windows by default is configured to automatically detect your internet connection, On occasion it has been known to get confused when there is more than one connection to the same box from the same computer.
      Most probably the wireless signal is low, therefore the speeds you are seeing are lower than via ethernet
      You could try turning off UPnP in the router?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Turning off UPnP didn't change anything.

      The thing that really annoys me is that if I get a new laptop with wireless i'll have the same problem, and I will have to keep my Xbox 360 wired too.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION