Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 38

    Wireless speeds 10% of ethernet speeds

    This is a discussion on Wireless speeds 10% of ethernet speeds within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; The only other thing I can suggest is go to manufacturers website for wireless and download newer drivers, that can ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      The only other thing I can suggest is go to manufacturers website for wireless and download newer drivers, that can sometimes help




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Already got the latest driver for my wireless adaptor, and i'm not aware of a Sky upgrade to the router?

      Oh well, thanks anyway.

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      You could try asking in the tech forum

      Can I Use my own Router with Sky Broadband?

      Let me know if you do decide to and I can move the thread in there for you

      NR




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      Johnny7's Avatar
      Johnny7 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: High Wycombe (SMHY)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      High Wycombe
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Try switching-off WEP and WPA encryption - you don't really need it as you have enabled MAC authentication. Sometimes the encryption can slow-down things on some wireless connections.
      John in High Wycombe

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Well after purchasing the Netgear USB Wireless adapter in the end i managed to get it to connect. We had to connect the usb cable to it which came with it, if we plugged it into one of the usb ports on the computer it wouldnt not connect. The Network Key and SSID provided by the Netgear/Sky Router worked perfectly, the only other thing i had to do was change the channel to 11 from 6 in the end i got excellent signal with 108mps connection. Also when i switched the computer on it seemed to work better having the Netgear adapter unplugged once everything had loaded up, plug it in and it established a connection very quickly. Thanks for all your advice and im very happy that i managed to sort this problem out.The Netgear software was very helpful it gave the signal strength so with a bit of "tweaking" from channel to channel we found in our case 11 was best P.S Encryption was set on WPA-SPK and UPNP was disabled hope this helps others.
      Someone just posted this info in another post




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      druidvideo's Avatar
      druidvideo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Vauxhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sorry to hijack

      When I select 108Mb is chooses channel 6 automatically and wont let me change it. Any ideas?
      Sync - D-11221 kbps U-766 kbps
      Attenuation D-38.5 db U-24.8 db
      Noise Margin D-6.9 db U-11.5 db
      Distance to Exchange - 1.14km

    8. #17
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      To get 108mps the router is set as channel 6 as it's the strongest one.

    9. #18
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      whats your signal like??? if its weak you can stick a higher Dbi arial on,just saw one go through ebay for the price of a curry........mmmmmm curry

      anyways just ebay.........Wireless Aerial Antenna

    10. #19
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have kind of resolved this, I changed the channel to 2 and moved my router slightly so it's higher up.

      I am now getting max speedtests most of the time and my connection is always at 54Mbps.

      It's still bizarre how sometimes the speeds drop though, despite me not changing a thing.

      Anyway, thanks for the help everyone, seems I won't have to find a route for a wire after all.

    11. #20
      mrfixit's Avatar
      mrfixit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208 930
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up

      The speed your claim to have on your wireless network is nothing like what it should be!

      I know from the days of 802.11b the 11Mbps was just impossibly slow!
      For the 802.g standard to give you 54Mbps it needs an 'excellent signal' strength. I have rarely seen a 108 connection indoors due to wall thicknesses etc. On my PC & LAPTOP wireless adaptors (non Sky/netgear) I have an actual signal strength meter which helps

      So... what to do...

      1. reposition the wireless router and/or orientation of antenna. Purchase 10m length cable from somewhere like ADSL nation to allow position of wireless router away from BT master socket
      2. reposition wireless antenna on PC or laptop (if external one used). If using USB version, try using remote mount option.
      3. Replace (they simply unscrew) wireless antenna from online shops such as ADSL nation, which give better signal reception

      Good luck!

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION