Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    wireless problems

    This is a discussion on wireless problems within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; i have a wireless PC. I have had no problems connecting wirelessly to the Netgear router until today. Now it ...

    1. #1
      levineg's Avatar
      levineg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitefield
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless problems

      i have a wireless PC. I have had no problems connecting wirelessly to the Netgear router until today.

      Now it won't connect wirelessly to the router anymore. The wireless light is still green on the router but won't connect to my computer

      It is a Ralink RT2500 Wireless LAN Card. Any ideas as to why it won't connect anymore.

      Is it a problem with the router or the PC?

      Any advice would be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Give everything a re-boot and if things seem any better, go to the router page (192.168.0.1 Admin,Sky) and switch of UPnP, that's been known to upset things.

    4. #3
      levineg's Avatar
      levineg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitefield
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      this didn't work

      Does anybody have any ideas on how to get the wireless working again

    5. #4
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Does your wireless card see the Sky router? If not, then...

      Connect via Ethernet and login to router configuration page. Reconfigure wireless settings an select a channel other than 11 (try 8?).

      Save settings and logout.

      Try connect Wirelessly now.

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Moved to the correct forum
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      levineg's Avatar
      levineg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitefield
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      it still won't work! Is there a problem with my PC or is it the router? I am absolutely baffled.

    8. #7
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      How about answering the question posed above and below, before we can assist?

      "Does your wireless card see the Sky router?"

    9. #8
      levineg's Avatar
      levineg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitefield
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yes my computer does see the wireless router but it won't connect!

    10. #9
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      have you tried,on the router,,, turning off the encription, changing channel??

    11. #10
      levineg's Avatar
      levineg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitefield
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yes i have tried all that

      I even tried WEP and it still won't connect

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION