Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    newbie help required regarding broadband box

    This is a discussion on newbie help required regarding broadband box within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey everyone I'm new here and I have lots of questions!!! Any help will be really reall great. I'll just ...

    1. #1
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      newbie help required regarding broadband box

      Hey everyone

      I'm new here and I have lots of questions!!! Any help will be really reall great.
      I'll just list my questions:

      How powerful is the sky router? Which technology does it use?
      What is the standard wireless card that sky sell? Is it good / poor?
      Can anyone suggest any decent wireless cards other than the sky one?
      What kind of range does the wireless signal have?
      Is a LAN port the same as an ethernet port?
      Can you buy USB port wireless receivers? I'm guessing they are pretty poor?

      I have a bit of a dilemma. My Dad ordered the BB as he wants to use it on his laptop, the problem is that its fairly old and has no ethernet or wireless capabilities - oooops! Thats why I asked if USB wireless receivers are available. I do have an option though - I think my desktop PC has an ethernet port, or a LAN port - i'm not really sure - are they the same? My motherboard is the ASUS P5ND2 Sli deluxe if anyone can help. Anyway I was thinking if I connected the sky router to my PC my Dad could connect via wireless using a USB wireless receiver, or buy a wireless laoptop!!! The problem is that my PC is in my room and he sits downstairs around 15 - 20 metres away. The signal has to travel through walls too - is it likely to cope?

      Anyway I have ranted enough now. Any help would be fantastic.

      regards Jonathan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      15-20 meters no problem, your comp seems fine, and i found any wireless card seems to work ok, you can get a usb dongle from pc world 19.99

    4. #3
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by stripe View Post
      15-20 meters no problem, your comp seems fine, and i found any wireless card seems to work ok, you can get a usb dongle from pc world 19.99
      wicked - thank you.

      What speeds can the USB dongles handle? Are they reliable? Baring in mind i'm only using the base 2MB package.

      My dad's laptop also has a PCMCIA slot - which is more reliable USB or PCMCIA?

      EDIT: oh man this is going to take ages to get right. What do all the spec's mean!! 802.11g, 802.11a, super G! I'm confused !!
      Last edited by jpmad4it; 01-12-06 at 03:03 PM.

    5. #4
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I can't say which adapter(s) are best or worse, but I can tell you that I have used D-Link AirPlus G Hi Speed wireless adapters (both PCI and USB for a laptop) and they work fine. The connection speeds were good, too.

      Ethernet and LAN port will be the same, as Ethernet is just a term to describe a common LAN networking standard. With regards to the router, the WAN port is your main link to your BB connection, and the 4 LAN ports are what you plug your PCs into.

      Hope that's what you're after.




    6. #5
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      usually less than your direct cable network, but well fast enough eg i get approx 600kbs on a cable, upstairs gets 400kbs wireless, but depends on many things, you wont know untill you try

    7. #6
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      802.11b is 11Mbps. g is 54Mbps and Super G is 108Mbps

      g will be fine.
      Last edited by iannufc; 01-12-06 at 03:14 PM. Reason: Friday afternoon brain drain



    8. #7
      stripe's Avatar
      stripe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcs
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      for a laptop i would use a wireless 802.11g PCMCIA card, just neater, check out ebay they almost give em away

    9. #8
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ah i see. So the superG is the fastest. The thing i dont understand is the Mbps speed. For example if my max connection speed is the 2mb base option, what is the max Mbps for that connection?

    10. #9
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      They are neater, I'd go for that.

      I only used USB as I have a PCMCIA-less laptop!



    11. #10
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If your connection is 2Mbps, you are not going to get anything more than that.



     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION