Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

    This is a discussion on Sky Wireless Extender Problems. within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I recently got the Sky WiFi signal extender because my phone was unable to get connection in my room. ...

    1. #1
      MattDuff123's Avatar
      MattDuff123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01330
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      Hi,

      I recently got the Sky WiFi signal extender because my phone was unable to get connection in my room. It now has perfect signal and is working fine. However, I also have a laptop in my bedroom which had a signal before the extender. Now my laptop seems to lose connection very frequently and I have to disconnect and reconnect for it to work. This is very frustrating because I play games online which require constant connection so I they are pretty much unplayable. The reason I believe it is the extender is because when it is turned off, my laptop has no problems.

      If there is any kind of solution to this any help would be appreciated.

      Many Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      It sounds like the Laptop is being confused.

      The Sky WiFi extender uses the same details that your router uses and the Laptop is probably trying to switch between the two since it can also see the router.

      You could try moving the extender to see if it would be better placed or you could purchase a pair of HomePlugs, with one having it's own WiFi access point.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      MattDuff123's Avatar
      MattDuff123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01330
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      Thanks, I'll give it a shot.

      - - - Updated - - -

      We cannot use home-plugs because our downstairs and upstairs are powered on different circuits. The router is downstairs and the laptop is upstairs.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      Quote Originally Posted by MattDuff123 View Post
      Thanks,.................

      We cannot use home-plugs because our downstairs and upstairs are powered on different circuits. The router is downstairs and the laptop is upstairs.
      As long as they are on the same meter you should be OK. If you have a 3 phase supply and it is on a different phase, then there will be problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      MattDuff123's Avatar
      MattDuff123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01330
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      Do you think there would be anyway to stop the laptop connecting to the router and instead just connect to the extender?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      Quote Originally Posted by MattDuff123 View Post
      Do you think there would be anyway to stop the laptop connecting to the router and instead just connect to the extender?
      No.

      The Extender uses identical details to your router. The Name of your router, password, security settings and channel are all the same.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky Wireless Extender Problems.

      I tried one of them extenders at my Aunts house because she was having problems using her iPad in the kitchen and it made things a dam sight worse! I tried moving the extender to loads of different locations and the iPad just kept dropping out and reconnecting! I ditched the extender in the end and relocated her router nearer to the kitchen, problem solved!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION