Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    unable to renew wireless network at startup

    This is a discussion on unable to renew wireless network at startup within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; ok thanks James. I think i`ll have to live with it. its not like i`m rebooting often anyway. Everything else ...

    1. #11
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ok thanks James.
      I think i`ll have to live with it. its not like i`m rebooting often anyway. Everything else is working great, so I dare not touch any of it.

      thanks again

      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      You could try setting a static IP address.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #13
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by LNB View Post
      You could try setting a static IP address.
      Hi

      Still no luck with this. I did try a static ip address but it just failed to connect to the net when I did this.
      Any instructions on how to setup a static ip address? I tried setting my tcp/ip settings under wireless settings to the address` from my ipconfig /all . but without any luck.

      thanks

      Paul

    5. #14
      khile's Avatar
      khile is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCLE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      do the following go to run when the box appers type in CMD and it will bring up a black dos window in there type ipconfig/all and it will run and get a list once that has passed type in ipconfig/release and that will drop all network connections then one last type type in ipconfig/renew and that will reconnect al network connections

      Try that
      Thank You
      Last edited by khile; 08-12-06 at 09:59 PM. Reason: crappy wireless keyboard (missing letters out)

    6. #15
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the reply.
      It seems the problem is with my d-link wireless adapter taking a while to get an ip address.
      I get these messages in the event viewer

      "Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address ..................

      Then after a wait this...
      "Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address ................... The IP address being used is 169.254.........."

      Once the adapter gets the network address (about 2-3mins wait) I get the connection.

      Any ideas

      Thanks

    7. #16
      dazzuk's Avatar
      dazzuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      209
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      169.254.x.x is called and APIPA (Automatic Private IP Addressing). This is given by the PC when the PC cannot find a DHCP server, meaning that either your PC is conflicting or is not communicating with the router or other DHCP server on your network.
      Dazz
      Got Fibre, Yay!!


    8. #17
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by dazzuk View Post
      169.254.x.x is called and APIPA (Automatic Private IP Addressing). This is given by the PC when the PC cannot find a DHCP server, meaning that either your PC is conflicting or is not communicating with the router or other DHCP server on your network.
      Thanks, Any ideas how I can fix this?

      Paul

    9. #18
      rogerfp's Avatar
      rogerfp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile How to repair Windows XP Winsock & TCP/IP

      There is an safe & easy way to do this using a freeware utility called WinsockXPfix.exe than can be downloaded from:- http://www.freewarearena.com/html/Do...s/id=2229.html

    10. #19
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by rogerfp View Post
      There is an safe & easy way to do this using a freeware utility called WinsockXPfix.exe than can be downloaded from:- http://www.freewarearena.com/html/Do...s/id=2229.html
      Thanks Roger. Unfortunately it didnt fix the problem. PC rebooted after winsockxpfix ran, but came startup was the same as before.

      Any other ideas?

      Paul

    11. #20
      Bob75's Avatar
      Bob75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Chiltern Hills
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      1. Possibly XP firewall preventing access to DHCP?
      2. Try re-typing the wireless key into the setup of the wireless card. (NB its case sensitive).
      3. conflict between wireless card software and the wireless zero configuration service under Windows XP

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION