Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21
    Like Tree1Likes

    Wireless Booster query?

    This is a discussion on Wireless Booster query? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've received one of Sky's [free] wireless booster units and wanted to set it up using the WPS button. I ...

    1. #1
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Booster query?

      I've received one of Sky's [free] wireless booster units and wanted to set it up using the WPS button. I followed the instructions given which suggested pressing the WPS button on my router (the Sagemcom F@st 2504N) for 2 seconds which should cause the wireless icon on the router to flash amber. However despite pressing the WPS button on my router for 2 seconds (and then more) the wireless icon on the router didn't flash amber it stayed solid green!

      Thinking that this router was different to the one shown in the instructions I assumed that the wireless icon on the router didn't turn amber so I pressed the WPS button on the wireless booster which flashed amber then turned solid white as per the instructions.

      My question is has the wireless booster been set up properly or is it just showing a solid white light without actually doing anything?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      I can't recall how long you should hold the WPS button on the 2504N, but I would be tempted to hold it for at least 10 seconds (no more than 15) to get the Wireless LED flashing.

      Once flashing it should stay that way for 2 minutes.

      Once the Booster is setup the Wireless light will indeed go white too (having flashed Amber after pressing its WPS button).

      You should also be able to use inSSIDer to see both your router and the Booster. They will have the same SSID (Wireless name).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      The WPS function in the router has not been turned off has it? One other point is that if you have not selected WPA2(AES) the WPS function will automatically be disabled. It does not work with lower encryption.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The WPS function in the router has not been turned off has it? One other point is that if you have not selected WPA2(AES) the WPS function will automatically be disabled. It does not work with lower encryption.
      Hmm, i've not had to use wireless for ages, but will be soon just for sky on demand & will be testing with & without the booster.

      I can only assume that my 2504n wifi settings are at default (apart from being disabled) because i don't recall ever tinkering with them.
      They are:

      Wireless Encryption WPA/WPA2-PSK (Mixed Mode)
      Enable WPS - box is unchecked.

      So will have to change both of these, or is WPA/WPA2-PSK a higher level of encryption than WPA2(AES)?

    6. #5
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I can't recall how long you should hold the WPS button on the 2504N, but I would be tempted to hold it for at least 10 seconds (no more than 15) to get the Wireless LED flashing.

      Once flashing it should stay that way for 2 minutes.

      Once the Booster is setup the Wireless light will indeed go white too (having flashed Amber after pressing its WPS button).

      You should also be able to use inSSIDer to see both your router and the Booster. They will have the same SSID (Wireless name).
      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The WPS function in the router has not been turned off has it? One other point is that if you have not selected WPA2(AES) the WPS function will automatically be disabled. It does not work with lower encryption.
      How do I check that?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      Quote Originally Posted by Schrodinger56
      How do I check that?
      Log in here: http://192.168.0.1/ (username = admin, password = sky) & click on 'setup', top left of page in the black bar.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Instruction booklet for 2504n states:

      push the WPS button on your sky router and hold for 2 seconds.

    8. #7
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      It says WPA/WPA2-PSK (Mixed Mode)

    9. #8
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      Quote Originally Posted by Schrodinger56 View Post
      It says WPA/WPA2-PSK (Mixed Mode)
      So does mine.
      It must be the default setting.

      What about the section above - 'Wireless Access Point'.
      Is there a green tick in the box labelled 'Enable WPS'?

    10. #9
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      I've installed inSSIDer and can see two entries for my network, one of them has a Blue Star next to it Also Enable WPS was ticked

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Booster query?

      Quote Originally Posted by Schrodinger56 View Post
      I've installed inSSIDer and can see two entries for my network, one of them has a Blue Star next to it Also Enable WPS was ticked
      The main question is, is your booster working? You will have to test it by trying to access the router from a place which does not usually allow a connection and place the booster somewhere between that place and the router. Remember it has to be in the wireless range of the router to work.

      As long as WPA2 is selected WPS should work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION