Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 1 Post By tenar
    • 1 Post By Isitme

    Sam knows white box

    This is a discussion on Sam knows white box within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi folks I have just received my Sam knows white box (tp-link N600, model WDR3600) which I will be connecting ...

    1. #1
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Sam knows white box

      Hi folks

      I have just received my Sam knows white box (tp-link N600, model WDR3600) which I will be connecting shortly but I just have some questions around its usability when connected to my SR101.

      1. It has dual band however the instructions advise that wireless devices are to connect directly to the SR101 but would it work if I connect to the tp-link wireless ?

      2. If I finish the trial and the tp-link is not asked to be returned would I be able to download the standard software or are there hardware or software restrictions?

      3. If do install the original software will it enable the 2 USB ports on the back(which do not work according to the instructions) or have these been physically disabled?

      Any advice would be really appreciated.




      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Sam knows white box

      tp link wireless is not usable its just for their stats

    4. #3
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Sam knows white box

      Thanks for the reply, would the wireless work then if I managed to install the original software, although no plans to do this until the trial is over and obviously if they don't want it back.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    5. #4
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Sam knows white box

      in theory it should be might end up bricked have not tried with mine
      Hedgehog1979 likes this.

    6. #5
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Sam knows white box

      Thanks again tenar, will have to wait and see if and when I try it.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sam knows white box

      If it is anything like the Samknows black box I have had for years now, the wireless is only used to check if other wireless clients are on line so that tests are are not run at that time. With so many routers being dual band nowadays, it would have to be dual band to cope with them.
      Hedgehog1979 likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Sam knows white box

      Thanks for the reply Isitme, think if I am going to tether a router to the SR101 I will probably just bite the bullet and buy one.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sam knows white box

      The Samknows box will not enhance your connection in any way. It is there to collect data only and should be connected to one of the ethernet ports on the Hub. It acts like a switch, giving you additional ethernet ports should you require them. I have my PCs connected to the Sambox and my NAS, TV and Sky box connected direct to the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Sam knows white box

      Thanks Isitme that is how I have it connected at the moment, just connected it up last night.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION