Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Router stops accepting wi-fi connections

    This is a discussion on Router stops accepting wi-fi connections within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; The past few weeks, my router has begun to stop accepting wifi connections periodically. Everything will be going fine, and ...

    1. #1
      seajays's Avatar
      seajays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Unhappy Router stops accepting wi-fi connections

      The past few weeks, my router has begun to stop accepting wifi connections periodically.

      Everything will be going fine, and both ethernet connections and broadband itself is OK. I can connect devices (android phone, ipad, etc), however after a few days devices will no longer be able to connect via wifi. They see the name of the router in the wireless settings however when they try to connect it simply fails.

      I have to either reset the sky router with a power off/on, or I can also go into the sky router settings and disable then re-enable the wifi, and after that all my devices can connect again. It didn't always do this - only recently.

      My router details are:
      Manufacturer: Sagemcom
      Model Number: F@ST2504n
      Firmware Version: 6.14.2a4N_UNI
      Firmware Version: A2pD035g.d23j1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router stops accepting wi-fi connections

      It didn't always do this - only recently.
      I wonder if this is another bug in the new firmware? The DHCP may be faulty. Could you try giving a couple of your devices fixed IP address and see if that helps? Keep them high to avoid conflicts 192.168.0.100 and 150 would do.

      This is just a work around as giving them fixed IPs could prevent you connecting to another network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      seajays's Avatar
      seajays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router stops accepting wi-fi connections

      Thanks - I do have some devices already on fixed IPs - for example I have a wireless client switch downstairs, into which my TV/Blu-ray and Sky box are plugged, and this has a fixed IP to the main router over WIFI (and is also on all the time). However this also loses the connection to WIFI - so I don't think it can be DHCP.

      When I watch connection attempts on my Android phone, the device says "Connecting", then "Disconnected", then cycles continually. Hasn't done it for a few days again now though...

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Router stops accepting wi-fi connections

      Have you checked that you have the latest firmware on your mobile?

      Also could you download and install inSSIDer (Wifi Analyzer on the iPad) to see if there are many other WiFi devices near where you live. It is possible that there is something else interfering with the router's signal.

      inSSIDer – Discover The Wi-Fi Around You | MetaGeek

      Both inSSIDer and Wifi Analyzer are available on the Android market.

      There are many other potential sources of interference for the WiFi which these tools won't pick up on. Microwave Ovens, some DECT phones (some work on the 2.4GHz frequency) and some video senders. It might be worth changing the WiFi channel on the router to get a better signal.

      Use the information from inSSIDer and work out the potentially cleanest channel out or 1, 6, 11 and 13. Try that first. If that is no good, try the others. Try to stick with 1, 6, 11 and 13 as these don't overlap traffic between each other. However if this is no good, give the other channel numbers a try.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      calenture's Avatar
      calenture is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stops accepting wi-fi connections

      I have exactly the same problem with this router. Tried default mode, fixed IP's. Every few days when a device goes out or range and comes back in it can't reconnect unless i either reboot router or disable then re-enable wifi in router settings. If a device stays in range then it will stay connected indefinitely. It's just when it goes out of range and tries to reconnect - works fine for a day or 2 then have to reset.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION