Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

    This is a discussion on bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hey there, yesterday I received my new f@st2504n router and i'm abit miffed to be honest and looking for abit ...

    1. #1
      adamguk's Avatar
      adamguk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      hey there, yesterday I received my new f@st2504n router and i'm abit miffed to be honest and looking for abit of help!

      Currently the only N rated device i have in my house is my mobile phone (htc sensation xe) as I won't be ordering a wireless N adapter for my laptop until friday, and when my mobile phone is connected to the network it will connect in the 65-72mb area (when it can be bothered) so I know it is receiving an N signal but the range is just as bad as when I was using my old sky d-link router (the G rated one).

      Now I was lead to believe by sky that this signal would be greatly improved around the house but this doesn't seem to be the case, am I missing something?


      Can anybody help me to understand why this is? thanks in advance


      Adam

      p.s- oh and I have tried turning all the devices that use 'G' just incase they were causing a bottleneck of some sort to no avail


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      I trust that you have placed the router in a good position where it is not hidden by anything too think (walls, cabinets, etc.) and that you have placed it on the stand so that the power socket is uppermost. This gives the aerial the best chance to broadcast a good signal.



      The signal is indeed stronger that the older D-Link 2640S. Depending on how large your home is and the construction of the property, you may need to play around a little in order to get a better coverage.

      I have a friend who house has a very thick stone wall in the middle of her property, with a chimney in it as well. If you are located on the other side of the wall to the router, the signal is not so good, although the Sky Hub does handle it much better.

      What you may need to do is to make use of the D-Link 2640S by piggybacking it onto the Sagem 2504N using the guide linked below. Connect the two routers together using either an Ethernet cable or pair of HomePlugs.

      How to connect two Routers together

      As for the actual connection speeds on your phone, mist phones are limited to just 65mb/s over WiFi. This is down to the adaptor which is used and there is little that anyone can do in this respect.

      Your WiFi g rated laptops are likely to have a problem connecting to this, or any WiFi n router, at a distance. This is because they are unlikely to be broadcasting a signal back to the router which is strong enough to maintain the connection.

      Are you looking to purchase a USB WiFi adaptor or replace the internal one? Depending on its age and what adaptor it currently has installed, it may be possible to change the adaptor for a WiFi n adaptor. The adaptors cost from around £10-£40, depending on the specific version required. Do ensure that you get one that supports a connection of up to 300mb/s on the 2.4GHz channels to make the most of the Sky router.

      There are a handful of different designs to watch out for, so please do your research first. In some cases the task is very easy, with others it can be a little more complicated.

      If you are not comfortable changing the adaptor yourself, a local specialist should be able to help you. He should charge not much more than 30 mins worth of labour and the cost of the part.

      Personally I found it easier to change the internal adaptor in the linger term as I don't need to worry about any USB devices which could be damaged.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      adamguk's Avatar
      adamguk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      Thanks for your reply Scubbie I appreciate it! I think i'm going to replace the internal card. I have a Dell Inspiron 1525 and have read that the 1505 wireless-N pci-express mini card is compatible, but do you know if any pci-express mini card would be compatible with my laptop? as the 1505 card is proving a challenge to get without ridiculous postage amounts from America etc haha. Thanks again in advance!

      -Adam

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      Consider something like the Intel 6200. Please do read the product details first as it may not be compatible with your Laptop's processor:

      Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6200 – Overview

      As for the price, there are a range of sources where you can get one for under £20. Some appear to be for under£10, but I haven't followed the links to be sure that they are genuine prices and that it is in stock.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      adamguk's Avatar
      adamguk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      thanks again for your reply and advice! I've opted to try the Intel Wireless Wifi Link 5300, although networking isn't one of my most knowledgeable subjects the spec on this one does seem pretty good! So fingers crossed it will give the results i'm after! haha. Thanks again

    7. #6
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      Quote Originally Posted by adamguk View Post

      Currently the only N rated device i have in my house is my mobile phone (htc sensation xe) as I won't be ordering a wireless N adapter for my laptop until friday, and when my mobile phone is connected to the network it will connect in the 65-72mb area (when it can be bothered) so I know it is receiving an N signal but the range is just as bad as when I was using my old sky d-link router (the G rated one).

      Now I was lead to believe by sky that this signal would be greatly improved around the house but this doesn't seem to be the case, am I missing something?


      Can anybody help me to understand why this is? thanks in advance
      l
      Probably only a Single stream device.

      IEEE 802.11n-2009 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      Spatial multiplexing - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      Also handheld devices like phones tend to need a stronger signal than larger devices such as laptops, due to the antenna design, space/power constraints.etc

    8. #7
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      Quote Originally Posted by adamguk View Post
      thanks again for your reply and advice! I've opted to try the Intel Wireless Wifi Link 5300, although networking isn't one of my most knowledgeable subjects the spec on this one does seem pretty good! So fingers crossed it will give the results i'm after! haha. Thanks again
      Check the Size and the Number of Antenna connections carefully also I'd suggest googling to find out if your Laptops Bios has a Wlan whitelist as some of them are locked to only take certian approved cards (which usually have to have a modified firmware to identify as belonging to the laptop manufacturer - I'm told it's to make FCC certification easier rather than being a ploy to lock you into using their cards, no idea if it's true.)

      The 5300 is a PCI-E Mini card with 3 antenna connections for 3x3:3

      However it's quite common for laptops to use half height mini pci-e cards in which case a 6300 would be more suitable.

      Also if you only have 2 antenna connections a 6200/5200 might be a better choice, it's 2x2:2 so limited to 300Mbit/s but there's little point having a 3x3 card if you don't have the antenna connections to support it.


      If you are infact looking for a 2x2:2 card I've found the Atheros AR9382 chip to perform quite well providing you get a decent driver version (I'd avoid the 9.2x drivers on windows7 however as the last one I tried caused a Blue screen of death after 5 mins or so)

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts
      The Intel 6300 also has 3 antennae connections.

      The 6200/6230 only has 2.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The Intel 6300 also has 3 antennae connections.

      The 6200/6230 only has 2.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner
      Is it still 2 for the 6230 or Does it need a separate connection for the Bluetooth?

      Bluetooth is still 2.4ghz but would have thought using the same antenna for wifi might cause interference issues

      Also worth noting some antennas may be designed for 2.4ghz so the car may not perform as well as it should on 5ghz networks


      Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: bad 'N' signal with new f@st2504n router

      Indeed the Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6230 does only have 2 antenna connections. It also supports up to 300mb/s on both 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels.

      Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6230: Product Brief

      There is Bluetooth support, but I have not been able to get this to work with my 6300 in my Laptop, so I haven't pushed this. How does it do this? I'm not current on the technical side of things. The Product Brief above may help.

      I hear what you say about the 5GHz WiFi abilities, but the primary objective of the thread was to recommend a suitable method to improve the connection speed for the Sky router which doesn't support the 5GHz channels. This card would achieve that goal.

      However I am sure that it would be able to support the 5GHz channels to a suitable degree should the need arise at a later date. Remember too that the 5GHz signal does not carry as far as the 2.4GHz signal.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION