Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By richardcookson0

    Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

    This is a discussion on Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP! within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Having had Sky broadband for ages but no wireless network in the house, I recently got an Ipad so thought ...

    1. #1
      richardcookson0's Avatar
      richardcookson0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Having had Sky broadband for ages but no wireless network in the house, I recently got an Ipad so thought it was time to get wireless. Stupidly (maybe) I didn't check before buying a Netgear N300 whether this might give me problems with Sky broadband, but I guess I'm now finding out what many before me have realised, that there are problems with non-Sky routers. So I've been trying for the best part of 7 hours to find a thread that helps me solve my particular issue with no results. I tried the link to get the username and password for my (very old non-wireless) Sky router, but although I got them the Netgear set-up wizard wouldn't complete when I entered them. I've read numerous threads about piggy-backing but can't make much sense of them.

      So, can anyone, in plain English as if speaking to a 5 year old (well, maybe a 10 year old) guide me step-by-step through what I need to do to get internet access up on the Netgear N300 so I can set up the wireless network. I'm not generally stupid, just a bit non-literate when it comes to computer speak, so a simple guide would really really help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Which specific model router do you have please?

      The N300, N600, N750, N900 numbers refer to groups of routers that work at that WiFi speed. Within the N300 there are both ADSL and Cable versions.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      richardcookson0's Avatar
      richardcookson0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      It's the ADSL version

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Which one please? (there are two GUIs in use by Netgear at the moment)

      Also is your Sky router connecting using MER or PPPoA?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      richardcookson0's Avatar
      richardcookson0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      The details I have are that it's an N300 Wireless Dual Band ADSL2+ Modem Router (DGND3300v2) - is that the information you need? (Sorry, I'm not familiar with all this stuff).

      Sky router is connecting using PPPoA (whatever that is!)

      Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks. Let me know if you need anything else.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to richardcookson0 For This Useful Post:

      Andseven (11-07-12)

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Brilliant.

      First thing then, you need to perform the following different things:
      1. obtain the log in details from your Sky Router
      2. set up the DGND3300v2 using the log in details
      3. connect the DGND3300v2 to your telephone line
      4. store the Sky router safely (do not sell it)

      So first thing, how do you get the log in details? Open Notepad then log into your router and look at the 'Maintenance' tab on the 'Router Status' page. Highlight the LAN MAC Address and copy and paste it into Notepad. Now take a look at the underside of the router and type the router's serial number into Notepad (this is assuming that you have the Netgear DG934G as shown in your profile).

      Navigate to the site linked below. Read the text then click the box to confirm your acceptance. Click the box for your router and copy and paste the information from Notepad to the boxes required.

      Sky router password generator

      Click "Generate" and copy and paste the results to Notepad. Now is a good time to save the contents to a file for safe keeping, but don't close Notepad for the moment.

      Now power up the DGND3300v2 and connect it to your Laptop of PC using an Ethernet cable and turn off the Laptop or PC's WiFi. Type in the following address to your browser and log in to the DGND3300v2:

      www.routerlogin.net

      Don't select the "Setup Wizard", choose the option "No. I want to configure The Router myself". This should take you to the "Basic Settings" shown on page 10 & 11 of your User Manual. Change the settings so that the key ones are as follows:

      Does your Internet connection require a log in? Yes
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      Login: copy and paste the login username from Notepad. It will end in "@skydsl"
      Password: copy and paste the generated password from Notepad

      http://www.downloads.netgear.com/fil...UM_13Mar12.pdf

      The other settings on the page should be left to obtain them automatically from your ISP for now. At a later date you may wish to investigate DNS Servers, for now leave alone as we just wish to get you connected.

      Click "Apply" and the router will reboot.

      Once complete, navigate to "ADSL Settings". Change the following:

      Multiplexing method: VC-Based
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38

      Click "Apply" and once more the router should reboot.

      You should now be safe to connect your DGND3300v2 your Sky broadband connection.

      Remember to keep your Sky router. Should the DGND3300v2 fail, you can always use it again.

      Now would also be a good time to check through and configure the WiFi settings. It is best to change these whilst connected using an Ethernet cable. This is explained in the User Manual in chapter 2, pages 15 to 33. I'd recommend WPA2 if possible as this is the more secure option. The router only support up to 300mbps on either the 2.4GHz or 5GHz channel. Choose which is best for you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Andseven (11-07-12)

    10. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      my (very old non-wireless) Sky router
      All Sky routers have wireless capability, have you checked that the wireless is enabled? Go into the routr settings and click Settings in the top menu bar. Check that 'Enable Wireless Access Point' is ticked. Check that WPA security is enabled and make a note ofthe network key while you are there.

      If it is an iPad 3 it will connect to the best channel available. You can force it to connect to either 2.4 or 5ghz by going to Settings>Network>WiFi and select the channel you want. The 2 frequencies will have different SSIDs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #8
      richardcookson0's Avatar
      richardcookson0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Hi Scubbie

      Tried your method but it falls down at the point where I try to log in to www.routerlogin.net with the new router connected. As I haven't established an internet connection using the new router I can't log in using that site because I can't log in to the site! Any ideas on how to get round this as it's a key step it seems? ( I managed to get the password etc as you suggested so ok that far).

      Thanks

    12. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Can't you log in using the routers IP address, probably http://192,168.0.1

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. #10
      richardcookson0's Avatar
      richardcookson0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear N300 Router for Wireless with Sky Broadband - HELP!

      Ah, thanks for the tip Isitme. (Also, you're right by the way, I can get wireless using the Sky router, but still want the Netgear one for better range/connectivity and also in case I decide to leave Sky, which given recent experience may happen soon).

      So, seems I'm sorted, thanks for all the help to both of you.
      Scubbie likes this.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION