Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router

    This is a discussion on D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I currently have a Sky Netgear DG834GT which I have had for about five years. My wireless reception is ...

    1. #1
      johnp's Avatar
      johnp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router

      Hi, I currently have a Sky Netgear DG834GT which I have had for about five years. My wireless reception is not very good any where in my house, but especially in my upstairs rooms. I have seen some good reviews on the
      D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router and I wondered if any body is using this on sky broadband.
      I look forward to your comments.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router

      You will be aware that this is a router only and will not connect direct to the internet, you would have to connect it through the GT or other modem. It is also only single band. 2.4ghz, but it does perform very well according to reports. It is a good choice if you want to dispense with the 5 ghz band.

      What you could do is flash the GT with DGTeam firmware and put it into modem only mode and connect through that, you would then get the full benefit of the Dlink.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      johnp's Avatar
      johnp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router

      Hi thanks for the reply, I did know that it was a router only. Where can I download the DGTeam firmware from.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      johnp's Avatar
      johnp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There are quite a few different firmwares listed, is there one in particular I should use.

      Thanks.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: D-Link DIR-645 SmartBeam router

      Some have had problems with the latest one so it is probably better if you use this one - http://www.siteguru.co.uk/be/netgear...GTeam_0848.zip

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION