Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Using Netgear DG834G as a wireless access point

    This is a discussion on Using Netgear DG834G as a wireless access point within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Firstly apologies, I know this has probably been covered many many times but each thread I read confuses me further, ...

    1. #1
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using Netgear DG834G as a wireless access point

      Firstly apologies, I know this has probably been covered many many times but each thread I read confuses me further, so thought I would ask again.

      I have just received a new Sagem router for my Sky BB, replacing a Netgear one that I had for 5 years. My Sagem one is going to be the main router connected to the phone line, plus by Ethernet to a switcher serving the whole of the house.

      What I would like (as the wireless signal is rubbish in my bedroom) is to use the Netgear as a Wireless Extender so that I can happily use my phones/laptop in the bedroom without worrying about signal strength. I still want the Sagem router to broadcast wirelessly as well.

      There is an Ethernet connection from the Sagem to the bedroom already, so I thought that all I would need to do is to change the IP address of the Netgear router to 192.180.0.??? and then disable the DHCP, plug the Ethernet cable in and away we go.

      Apparently not, this causes problems everywhere!

      Has anyone got a guide to where I am going wrong??

      Thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Using Netgear DG834G as a wireless access point

      Take a look at the document in this thread: How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using Netgear DG834G as a wireless access point

      Thanks for that, but I am pretty sure that is exactly what I have done and it didn't work.

      I had to switch my Sagem router off first (as both routers would have had 192.168.0.1 as the address) and changed the Netgear to 192.168.0.250. I connected to that using the ethernet cable and can see that router, but when I link the two routers together everything goes down?

      Is it possibly because I am going through a switcher between routers??

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,907
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Using Netgear DG834G as a wireless access point

      Did you disable the DHCP server on the Netgear?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION