Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    VPA connection issues

    This is a discussion on VPA connection issues within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello I have sky broadband and use a sky sagem wireless router currently (not sure of the model). It appears ...

    1. #1
      hoggdog's Avatar
      hoggdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      VPA connection issues

      Hello

      I have sky broadband and use a sky sagem wireless router currently (not sure of the model).

      It appears Sky as standard don't allow you to connect to any VPN. Can anyone suggest an alternative adsl wireless router I could purchase that will do the job? I am guessing Netgear is no good as the previous routers I had from Sky were netgear and they dont work.

      I can connect to my VPN elsewhere using BT broadband etc. I dont want to have to leave sky so rather find a quicker solution. any suggestions would be great.

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: VPA connection issues

      There are a great many with Sky using VPN quite successfully. The old Sagem required an update to allow the use of certain clients, but the Netgears and the new Sagems are reported to be OK. What is the problem you have?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      hoggdog's Avatar
      hoggdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: VPA connection issues

      I seem to be able to connect ok using the Sagem. The connection says it is staying connected etc, but actually accessing any of the drives when I am connected to the VPN is not possible. Therefore it isnt actually working. It cant be the laptop as I am able to connect perfectly fine and access all drives from my brothers place via BT broadband. Our work VPN is call Netscreen remote by Jupiter Netorks.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: VPA connection issues

      You may wish to consider using a non-Sky router.

      You could connect an ADSL router in place of the Sky router. some members have reported issues with this in the past though. Whilst this is technically against Sky's T&Cs, Sky are not currently punishing people for using their own routers. MER is linked to causing problems though.

      Alternatively you could use a Cable router and connect it to the Sky router via the Ethernet WAN port. See the thread linked below for some guidance to what i am thinking:

      Using the DLink DIR613.

      This 2nd option doesn't technically breach Sky's T&Cs as their router is still connected to the line.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION