Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12
    Like Tree1Likes

    Home plugs & windows 7

    This is a discussion on Home plugs & windows 7 within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi while waiting on my broadband to go live next wk - i am gonna be using homeplugs for the ...

    1. #1
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Home plugs & windows 7

      hi
      while waiting on my broadband to go live next wk - i am gonna be using homeplugs for the first time.

      Extra Value 200Mbps Powerline Adapter Twin Pack | Ebuyer.com

      i have heard that there are problems with windows 7 finding the plugs to connect.
      reading some user reviews on ebuyer......

      any more info would be great


      johnny....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      Generally HomePlugs are invisible to your computer.

      Some may require correctly pairing with each other. Check the packing to see if this is the case.

      I've stopped using the pair I have as my WiFi works fine now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      I don't have those particular ones but my Netgears work brilliantly well with XP , Windows 7 , Sky+ & Freesat recorders.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to timc For This Useful Post:

      bigj2552 (26-08-11)

    6. #4
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Unhappy Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      hi again scubbie....

      my girlfriend doesnt want cat 6 cables all over the house ......i dont see the problem with em TBH...

      So the next thing is home plugs.....

      have tryed wireless on window 7 machines and my other xp pro machine - it keeps saying - no network found...make sure your wireless switch is on ! - wot switch ?
      both machings are not even finding ANY wireless connection..
      whats the dam wireless switch ?

      thanks again pal....

      johnny

    7. #5
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Smile Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      Quote Originally Posted by timc View Post
      I don't have those particular ones but my Netgears work brilliantly well with XP , Windows 7 , Sky+ & Freesat recorders.
      thanks for reply....
      is the much of a lose using home plugs than using cat6 cabling ?

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      Quote Originally Posted by bigj2552 View Post
      my girlfriend doesnt want cat 6 cables all over the house ......i dont see the problem with em TBH...

      So the next thing is home plugs.....
      No problem with that. HomePlugs do work well.

      Quote Originally Posted by bigj2552 View Post
      have tryed wireless on window 7 machines and my other xp pro machine - it keeps saying - no network found...make sure your wireless switch is on ! - wot switch ?
      both machings are not even finding ANY wireless connection..
      whats the dam wireless switch ?
      Assuming that you have a Laptop, then it should have WiFi. Desktops aren't normally supplied with a WiFi adaptor. You can purchase WiFi adaptors or USB Dongles for WiFi if you want.

      On my Laptop if I want to turn my WiFi off or on, I press & hold the <FN> Key and press the <F8> Key twice. Other Laptops have the Wireless function on other keys. See if your has a symbol to help.

      Some Laptops have a slider switch at the front or the side, whilst others have a button that you can depress to turn it on or off.

      I would suggest that if you can't find anything that you see if you can find an electronic version of your computer's manual.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      bigj2552's Avatar
      bigj2552 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSGIR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY Q HUB
      Sky TV: KODI
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      South Ayrshire
      Posts
      217
      Thanks
      26
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Red face Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      i am using a belkin usb dongle on BOTH desktop machines - and still getting the make sure your switch is on....
      have reinstalled both xp and 7 but still the same ....

      but......

      i have yet another desktop i built 10 years ago ( awe -my first build lol)....it runs xp home and the belkin usb dongle picks up wireless great.....
      i dont get it.....
      tryed googling it as well with limited success

      any more help scubbie ? or has this one got ya to

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      Check that the dongle is recognised in the 'Device Manager'.

      Plug the dongle in before opening the 'Device Manager'.

      There are several ways to navigate to it. One is to open 'Windows Explorer' & <Right Click> 'Computer' and select 'Properties'. 'Device manager' is listed on the left.

      If you have any unknown devices, then it looks like you will need to reinstall the driver for your WiFi dongle.

      If it is listed under the 'Network adapters', then all is well.

      Next download & install inSSIDer. This tool should allow you to see whatever WiFi routers are working where you are.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #9
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      One possible problem is you are using the Belkin supplied WiFi utility and the Windows WiFi Manager at the same time. That's a recipe for disaster! Use either the Belkin Utility or the Windows Manager but don't try mixing them.

    12. #10
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Home plugs & windows 7

      Quote Originally Posted by bigj2552 View Post
      thanks for reply....
      is the much of a lose using home plugs than using cat6 cabling ?
      Well you won't get gigabit transfer rates and mine are only 85mbps ones but as the devices that use them are only for Anytime+ & IPlayer etc then there's no problem at all as the limit is my internet speed.

      I guess the 200 or 500mbps version would be pretty good for computer to computer transfers though.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION