Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Neighbours conflict.

    This is a discussion on Neighbours conflict. within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello. I have been using wireless broadband for over a year and have had very few problems. 3 months ago ...

    1. #1
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Neighbours conflict.

      Hello.

      I have been using wireless broadband for over a year and have had very few problems.
      3 months ago new people moved into a house over the road and had sky tv/broadband installed.
      Since then i have had constant loss of signal and very slow broadband. I have inssider on the computer and i have been using channel 6 for over a year no probs. Checking inssider i can see they are using channel 6 also so i changed my channel number and i still get a weak signal.
      I used to use homeplugs but i never got a fast connection so went back to wireless and was ok till they got sky.
      Is there anything i can do apart from going to their house and change the channel for them.
      Vince


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      Have you tried each channel one by one? There has got to be another channel that would give you a better signal.

      You could try 2 and 13.

      Keep Inssider open, change channels one by one and observe you rssi.

    4. #3
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      I have tried all the channels and the results are, 1 has 60 RSSI, 2,3,4,5 have 62 rssi, 6 has 58 rssi, 7 has 61, 8 has 63, 9 has 65, 10,11,12,13 have 70 or 71 rssi.
      Only channel 6 and 11 are being used by wireless things.
      I have done a speedtest and the most i have been able to is 2.1mb but 2/3 weeks ago i was getting 5.6mb download.
      I have rebooted the router,unpluged cables and checked most things.I don't have a test socket.
      Vince

    5. #4
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      Think yourself lucky you dont have some jerk like me
      taking up the whole spectrum


    6. #5
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      Quote Originally Posted by 1vincent View Post
      I have tried all the channels and the results are, 1 has 60 RSSI, 2,3,4,5 have 62 rssi, 6 has 58 rssi, 7 has 61, 8 has 63, 9 has 65, 10,11,12,13 have 70 or 71 rssi.
      Only channel 6 and 11 are being used by wireless things.
      I have done a speedtest and the most i have been able to is 2.1mb but 2/3 weeks ago i was getting 5.6mb download.
      I have rebooted the router,unpluged cables and checked most things.I don't have a test socket.
      Vince
      What kinds of speeds do you get via ethernet?

    7. #6
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      Thank you for the replies.

      I get 6.5m from ethernet but i had to bring the computer downstairs next to the router to test it.
      When the computer is upstairs i need about a 25m length of cable if i was to a neat set up like up the stairs and along skirting and over doors so this is not practical.
      I also have a laptop that i use now and again and that has the speeds on wireless and ethernet as the computer.

      Vince

    8. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      You could consider getting homeplugs for your desktop.

    9. #8
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      I used to have homeplugs installed but i never got very good speeds which i think was down to the old wirering in the house.
      I use 2 homeplugs for sky anytime + but even then sometimes the stuff i watch is juttery and i have to wait at least half an hour before i can watch it.
      Maybe i will have to cut my neighbours phone line to get a good signal?.

      Vince

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      Quote Originally Posted by 1vincent View Post
      Maybe i will have to cut my neighbours phone line to get a good signal?.
      This won't work. The router will still be powered up and broadcasting it's signal.

      What about running an Ethernet cable through a socket in the wall?

      You could run it up into the loft, and back down to the room where the PC is located.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Neighbours conflict.

      Go to Inssider and click on the time graph tab. Let the program collect some data and then take a screenshot and post it here.

      For example in the screenshot below two routers are sitting side by side broadcasting on the same channel. One of them has a faulty wifi card and the other one doesn't.



      Notice how the one with the faulty card is all over the place whereas the other one gives a consistent rssi.

      Try this on channel 6 and post your results.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION