Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve it?

    This is a discussion on Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve it? within the Wireless / Adapters forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, Just had Sky broadband installed, it's a Sagemcom router. I spent 1 hour on the phone with Sky ...

    1. #1
      scunni12's Avatar
      scunni12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve it?

      Hi all,

      Just had Sky broadband installed, it's a Sagemcom router. I spent 1 hour on the phone with Sky support and in the end she suggested that it must be my computer, I really hope it's not!

      Here's the issue:

      My Toshiba laptop running Vista Home edition Service Pack 2 will connect to the router, with an excellent signal but has 'limited connectivity'. When I open an internet browser I receive a 'page not found message'.

      Here's why it's confusing:

      - The other people in the household have no issue with connecting to the broadband wirelessly from their laptops.

      - When I plug the cable from the router into my laptop I can use the internet fine.

      - I can connect to other routers (in the office etc) fine.

      Here's what I've tried so far:

      Well, just about everything I can find including restarting the router, changing the security options (currently set to WPA/WPA2-PSK (mixed mode)), tried 'disabled' but to no avail.

      Tried 'diagnosing the problem' including 'resetting the adapter' but no luck.

      Tried 'removing' and 'adding' the connection.

      Does anyone have any more suggestions? Can I provide more information?

      Would really appreciate any help.

      Thanks,
      Shaun


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      scunni12's Avatar
      scunni12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Should also add that:

      - I've checked the power settings of the laptop
      - both the 'enable wireless access point' and 'allow broadcast of name' are enabled on the Sky settings.
      - I've already been through the http://support.microsoft.com/kb/892896 thread.

    4. #3
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: EE Fibre (rubbish!)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q and Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      240
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      When it's connected and in "limited availability" mode, can you tell us what the IP address of your laptop is? Is it within the DHCP range of the router?

    5. #4
      scunni12's Avatar
      scunni12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Thanks for you response.

      I'm using said laptop now (connected via cable) and my IP address is 2.221.199.160. I don't know how I'd obtain my IP address though when I'm not connected.

      Another couple of notes are that I did go through the IPV6 and IPV4 settings with Sky support and tweaking those didn't work either.

      Also when I most recently ran a network diagnosis I received the following message: Cannot communicate with the primary DNS Server 197.168.0.1.

      I'm sorry I don't actually understand what DHCP range means, if you're referring to the proximity (which you're probably not) the laptop and router are next to each other.

      EDIT - These are the results from an IPCONFIG command on CMD. Here is what I receive when connected by cable:

      Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e885:76ef:1250:315c%11
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d536:b7bd:14b8:7f34%10
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

      Here is what I get when trying to connect wirelessly:



      Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e885:76ef:1250:315c%11
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Last edited by scunni12; 27-05-11 at 01:14 AM.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Disable the WiFi on the Sagem 2304n.

      This is a symptom of the faulty firmware. Some threads to wet your lips:

      Sagemcom C8CD firmware updates should be happening now

      Sagem F@ST 2304n WiFi issues

      Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I appreciate that two are quite long now, but well worth the read.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: EE Fibre (rubbish!)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q and Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      240
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Nah what I meant by DHCP range, was "Is the laptop using one of the IP addresses issued by the laptop".

      Essentially the wireless card connects to the router via wifi. It authenticates and all that shizzle. Then the router will give the network card an IP address. If it fails to do the latter, then you can get that "limited connectivity" message because it's connected, but can't see anything.



      Ok I can kinda see what's happening there:

      On the wireless connection, you get issued an IP address, 192.168.0.13. It also shows you how many addresses are in that range, via the Subnet mask. BUT it's not telling you what the default gateway address is.

      Therefore the Wifi doesn't know where to send any traffic destined for outside of your network, that it doesn't know about.

      A temporary fix might be to assign the wireless card with settings say:

      IP Address: 192.168.0.100
      Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
      DNS: 8.8.4.4
      DNS2: 8.8.8.8

      (The above DNS servers are Google's ... and rather snappy).

      The only problem with setting a fixed IP address for the wifi card is that it will only work on your home network.

      Do you know how to enter a fixed IP address? Do you use your laptop away from home on other wireless networks?

      (I'm thinking even if you use it away from home, we can fix an IP address and test it to confirm it all works, and then set it back to "dynamic".).

    8. #7
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: EE Fibre (rubbish!)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q and Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      240
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Disable the WiFi on the Sagem 2304n.

      This is a symptom of the faulty firmware. Some threads to wet your lips:

      Sagemcom C8CD firmware updates should be happening now

      Sagem F@ST 2304n WiFi issues

      Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I appreciate that two are quite long now, but well worth the read.
      Doh!!! Cheers Scubbie!

      I didn't realise that not issuing a default gateway was one of the listed issues.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Quote Originally Posted by Pengwern View Post
      Doh!!! Cheers Scubbie!

      I didn't realise that not issuing a default gateway was one of the listed issues.
      It is one of the problems I experienced at several points with the Sagem router. Not sure if it was clearly documented in the threads, but certainly worth swearing at when I was half-way through suggesting other things.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Pengwern (27-05-11)

    11. #9
      scunni12's Avatar
      scunni12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Thanks Pengwern and Scoobie for your feedback.

      Scoobie - I did read as much as those threads as I could, I just wanted to clarify that at this stage there will be nothing more that I can do except replace the router / wait for an update of the firmware?

    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Limited Connectivity, Vista, Works with cable, Sky Support gave up, can you solve

      Quote Originally Posted by scunni12 View Post
      Scoobie - I did read as much as those threads as I could, I just wanted to clarify that at this stage there will be nothing more that I can do except replace the router / wait for an update of the firmware?
      Having experienced many issues with the Sagem 2304n, I would be inclined to wait until you have the new firmware.

      For now the best be is to disable the WiFi and use the router without it. If you need WiFi, then hock up a 2nd WiFi enabled router if you have one.

      In the mean time leave the Sagem 2304n connected & powered up 24/7. The updates are arriving around the clock at a rate of around 2,000 per day and are predicted to be complete by 11th June.

      Useful thread: How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION